Santa Barbara County
Historical Marker #877 - Chapel of San Ramon - Foxen Canyon, CA
Source: Chapel of San Ramon Image Gallery
SW corner of Tepusquet
and Foxen Canyon Rds, 15 mi SE of Santa Maria
N 34° 50.875 W 120° 14.455
The Chapel of San Ramon erected in 1875, located between Santa Maria and Los Olivos California.
The plaque reads as follows:
Chapel of San Ramon
This Redwood frame chapel erected in 1875 by
Frederick and Ramona Foxen Wickenden for Area
Residents, illustrates the transition between
the architecture of the old missions and the
Frame churches of the later American Settlers.
It is a unique example of the use of Wood to
create strong, simple forms that had formerly
been executed in Adobe.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 877
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks
and Recreation in Cooperation with the San Ramon
Chapel preservation committee and the Santa Barbara
County historical landmarks advisory committee, August 31, 1975.
The church is located in a beautiful spot on a hill overlooking the surrounding countryside. It has an old cemetery with some very interesting headstones of the local residents.
This page was last updated August 2, 2009.