Monterey County California Genealogy and History

Monterey County: Neighboring Counties

Click on any county to visit that CAGenWeb site!

Click on any County to visit that CAGenWeb county site.

Monterey County was one of the original 18 counties considered for creation January 4, 1850 during California's first constitutional convention, held in Monterey.

The state Legislature, after adding an additional 9 counties, officially created Monterey County February 18, 1850. See 1850 County Map for the original county boundaries (Monterey is shown as #28).

In 1874, part of Monterey County was taken to form San Benito County. Otherwise its boundaries have remained the same.


San Luis Obispo County Kern County Kings County Fresno County San Benito County Santa Clara County Santa Cruz County Monterey County