History of Orange County Page 150-161


Among the progressive and alert business men of Fullerton one of the best known is Hans L. Kohlenberger, president of the Kolenberger Engineering Company, Inc., of this city. A man of widely recognized ability as an engineer, and a capable and enterprising business man, he has been successful in building up an extensive and prosperous concern He was born in Germany, and is a son of C. H. and Minnie (Stuve) Kohlenberger, both of whom are living at Anaheim, where the father is connected with the city water department. The parents brought their family from Germany to the United States in 1907 and at once located in Anaheim, Orange County. Hans H. Kohlenberger received a good education and when the United States became involved in the World war he enlisted in the navy, in which he served approximately two Years. In 1919 he was honorably discharged, with the rank of chief machinist.

For some time he was Chief Engineer for the Consolidated Ice and Cold Storage Company of Fullerton. In 1926 he organized the Kohlenberger Engineering Company of which he is the president and in charge of sales and distribution. The company incorporated in 1929, as the Kohlenberger Engineering Corporation, has an office in Los Angeles, in which Mr. Kohlenberger spends part of his time. He is not only a good businessman, but is recognized as an expert mechanical engineer.

In 1920 Mr. Kohlenberger was united in marriage to Miss Louise Craven, and they are the parents of five children, Shirley Louise, Mary Elizabeth, Charles Russell, Hans Stanley and Beverley Fair. The family home is at 120 West Truslow Avenue, Fullerton. Mr. Kohlenberger is a member of Fullerton Chamber of Commerce. He is intensely loyal to the best interests of his community, in the prosperity of which he is an important factor, and is one of the leaders in its commercial affairs.

History of Tulare and Kings Counties CA p531


A loyal son of the Golden State, who despite discouragements has become one of its successful ranchers, is Walter S. Burr, whose birthplace was in Yolo County, seven miles west of Woodland, and the date of his nativity was January 22, 1857. His childhood was passed in Yolk and Tehama counties and in 1869, when he was about twelve years old, he was brought to Tulare county.

His father, B. F. Burr, was a farmer who tried his fortunes with the soil near Tulare a short time, then went to the eastern part of the county and operated a sawmill and handled lumber until the spring of 1876, when he moved to the Mussel Slough district, where he soon became known through his activity in the promotion of the construction of the People's ditch. For several years he lived on and farmed lands which were ultimately appropriated by the railroad company, but he had in the meantime bought forty acres adjoining, in the next section, and consequently was not left without a home. There he planted a vineyard and an orchard and lived until 1886, when he joined a colony in Mexico. He returned to Tulare in 1896 and died there soon afterward, aged seventy-one years.

As a farmer Walter S. Burr may be said to have begun at the bottom of the ladder. He acquired a claim to a quarter-section of land seven miles south of Hanford and homesteaded it. About the same time he pre-empted forty acres, and later, when fortune had smiled on him, he bought two hundred acres adjoining his original purchases and now has four hundred acres. He devotes him self to farming, stock-raising and dairying, owning seventy-five head of cattle, many horses and mules and about two hundred and fifty hogs. One hundred acres of his land is in alfalfa. Water for irrigation he draws from the Lakeside ditch, and on his place are ample wells for his stock as well as for irrigation, he having two pumping plants. In association with his sons he operated an alfalfa thresher for two years. He was active in securing irrigation ditches for his part of the county and the legislative passage of the no-fence law.

For three terms aggregating twelve years he ably filled the office of supervisor, representing the second district, and during one of the terms he was president of the board. His activity in the work of the local Grange brought him election as secretary of that body. Fraternally he affiliates with the Woodmen of the World and with the Foresters.

Mr. Burr married, December 30, 1884, Mary L. Graham, daughter of John Graham, a pioneer in the vicinity of Visalia, and they have three children, Carl T., Maud and Reel G. Maud is the wife of E. H. Howe. Mr. Burr has won his success in life by the exercise of those qualities which enter into the character of all self-made men, and those who know him best know that he has prospered honestly and deservedly.

History of Kern County page 560

Water James BURKE from NDGW submission married Sarah Agnes GILL Feb 18 1892 in Porterville, CA. At the time of this submission his children were listed as Mrs. C. T. WACHOB, Bakersfield; Nora J. BURKE, Bakersfield; Teresa C. BURKE, Wasco; James J. BURKE, Kern River Oil Fields; Catherine BURKE, Bakersfield; Walter A. BURKE, Bakersfield.

WALTER J. BURKE.~On a farm in the foothills of the Greenhorn mountain, where his parents, Daniel and Mary (Vickers) Burke, were improving a claim and pre-empting a homestead, W. J. Burke was born, March 7, 1865. His father, Daniel, was born in county Mayo in 1826 and passed his youth upon an Irish farm. With the hope of benefiting his condition by coming to the new world, in 1849 he crossed the ocean and settled in Sheffield, Mass., where he learned the trade of brick maker. During 1853 he canine to California via the Nicaragua route and at once went to the mines of Sierra County. With the exception of eighteen months in the mines of British Columbia, he spent his remaining years in California. On his return from the northern mines he took up land in Tulare county near Woodville and began to raise stock.

Immediately after his arrival in Kern county in 1864 Daniel Burke took tip land on Greenhorn mountain, where be acquired three hundred and twenty acres and engaged in raising grain, vegetables and stock, selling all the products of the farm at the neighboring mines. By degrees he became fairly prosperous and at his death, which occurred August 8, 1900, he was counted among the large landowners of his locality. In June of 1862 he had married Miss Mary Vickers, who was born in Adams County, Ill., and in 1860 crossed the plains with her parents in a wagon drawn by oxen, the family settling in Tulare county. Her death occurred in Kern county December 20, 1903. Six children had been born of her marriage, the eldest being Mrs. Margaret Fritz, of Ripen, San Joaquin County. The second, Walter T., forms the subject of this review. The others are as follows: Daniel, a farmer living near Bakersfield: Mrs. Celia Wilkerson, of Bakersfield; William who is practicing law in Portland. Ore.; and Vincent a resident of San Jose.

In order that he might enjoy educational advantages not possible in the vicinity of the mountain farm, Walter J. Burke was sent to Los Angeles and for two years was a student in St. Vincent's College, then located on Sixth and Hill streets. Upon his return to the farm he began to take a very active part in its supervision, besides pre-empting one hundred and sixty acres near the old homestead and later buying adjacent property from time to time as his means permitted. Meanwhile he had married at Porterville, February 15, 1892, Miss Sarah Gill, a native, of county Mayo, Ireland, and an able assistant in his enterprises. Mrs. Burke came to New York City in 1880 with a sister, Mrs. Conway, and in 1890 came with her to California Her father, James Gill, a farmer in Mayo, died there. Her mother, Nora Varley, is still living on the old farm at an advanced age. Eventually Walter Burke held the title to one thousand acres on Greenhorn and this was utilized for stock range or grain-raising. For years he made a specialty of raising cattle and horses and in this line of work his judgment was so keen that he prospered to an unusual degree. During 1908 he built a residence at No. 492 A Street, Bakersfield, and in 1910 he sold out the stock, disposed of some of the range and closed out his farming interests, although he still owns three hundred and twenty acres at the old place.

In addition he owns one hundred acres eight miles south of Bakersfield under the Kern Island canal and this he leases to a tenant, the land being under cultivation to alfalfa and grain. Included in his city holdings are a frontage of one hundred and fifty feet on Nineteenth and A streets, improved with three cottages, and a frontage of equal size on Chester avenue and Twenty-third street, occupied by three business houses. Property at Princeton, San Mateo County, also is held by him, and his interests are further enlarged through his position as president of the Apartment House Building Company in Los Angeles, of which he is a large stockholder. He also built and owns the Panama apartment building on Second and Flower streets in that city. All of his seven children are at home, namely: Mary, Nora, Teresa, James, Catherine, Margaret and Walter. The family name leading members of St. Francis' Catholic Church and he has been prominently identified with the Knights of Columbus. In national elections he supports the Democratic Party.

History of Kern County page 722

From the NDGW submission of Nora J. BURKE, granddaughter living at 402 A Street Bakersfield
Daniel BURKE, Sr. born Mayo Ireland 1826 came to CA in 1853 via Nicaragua route.
Lived in Sheffield MA in 1849
Resided in Tulare County near Woodville
Was a rancher and stockman
Educated in Ireland
Died in Kern County Aug 8 1900
Children: Daniel J. BURKE, Jr.; Mrs. Margaret FRITZ, Ripon; Walter J. BURKE, Bakersfield; Mrs. Celia WILKERSON, Bakersfield; William, Portland OR; Vincent BURKE.
Married Mary VICKERS June 1862 Tulare County CA

Born in Adams Co IL 1848
Arrived in CA 1860 via oxen team through Salt Lake, Utah
Lived in IL before coming to CA
Lived in Tulare County, Kern County
Died Kern County CA Dec 20 1903

From obituary on Mrs. BURKE

A native of IL, who came to the county and resided with her family on Greenhorn mountain. Mother of six, three of whom: D. Burke, Jr., Walter Burke and Mrs. WILKERSON, reside in the county

Daniel BURKE, Jr. born Jan 18 1867 nr. Greenville, Kern County CA
Stock raiser and farmer
Educated in CA public schools until he was 16 years
Died Bakersfield CA Feb 17 1946
Children: Palmer BURKE
Married Rose PALMER Jan 26 1896 Hot Springs Valley, Kern County CA

From obituary on Daniel BURKE, Jr.

Survived by widow, Mrs. Rose BURKE, Bakersfield;
Sister, Mrs. Margaret FRITZ, Manteca;
Nephews: Dr. Walter BURKE and James BURKE Bakersfield;
Charles and John FRITZ, Manteca;
Nieces: Nora and Teresa BURKE and Mrs. C. T. WACHOB, Bakersfield.

DANIEL BURKE - One of the men who have achieved success in Kern county is Daniel Burke, a native son of the county, born twelve miles south-east of Glennville, January 18, 1867, a son of Daniel Burke, Sr. The father was born in County Mayo, Ireland, in October 1828 and came to the United States in 1849 and to California in 1852. Until 1864 be followed mining in different parts of the state, during this time going to the Frazier river mines in British Columbia and remaining two years. In the meantime, in 1862, he bought a land claim on Little Poso creek, and in 1883, after a survey had been made, be acquired a homestead and four sections of railroad land. In 1889 he also bought land in the Panama district, to which he moved in 1898, but he died on his ranch in the Greenhorn Mountains in August 1900. He was a man of prominence in his time and locality, who had much to do with public affairs.

Daniel Burke, Jr., attended public schools until be was sixteen years old and afterward worked on his father's homestead at the stock business and on the Burke property in the Panama district. The present place of forty acres seven miles south of Bakersfield was bought in 1992 and Mr. Burke devotes it to raising alfalfa and a small vineyard of choice varieties of table grapes.

In Hot Springs valley, near Havilah, January 26, 1896, Daniel Burke married Miss Rose Palmer, who was born near Kernville, September 29, 1874, and they have a son, Palmer Burke. Robert Palmer, Mrs. Burke's father, was born in Christian county, Ky., May 7, 1823, and settled at Jacksonville, Ill., whence be came in 1850 to California across the plains on horseback and with pack mules. For ten years he was more or less successful in placer mining in different parts of the state, and in 1860 he came to the Piute mountains and made his headquarters there while be prospected and mined in Kern county. While engaged in his mining ventures he also carried on a stock business, establishing his home on the ranch in Hot Springs valley in 1878, and there he died in 1905, when he was eighty-two years of age. Fraternally Mr. Burke affiliates with the Knights of Columbus and the Woodmen of the World, politically he is a Republican, and with his wife is a member of St. Francis Catholic Church.

History of Tulare County page 1485

HUGH L. HAMILTON. While Mr. Hamilton is still a young man he has accumulated a handsome property and is considered one of the substantial men in Tulare County. His success in life is the result of his own efforts, having made his own way in the world since 1881. He is a native of Arkansas, and was born in Mississippi County, near Osceola, January 16, 1861, a son of Andrew J. Hamilton, who was born in Ireland. The latter was a son of Charles Hamilton, who removed from Ohio to Virginia, afterwards going to Missouri, settling in Cass county, where he became actively engaged in general farming. During his residence in Cass County he made several trips across the plains, and in 1872 located in Tulare county. Here he lived until his death in 1882, at the ripe old age of ninety-seven years. His last days were spent at the home of his son Hugh, near Kaweah.

Andrew J. Hamilton spent most of his life in Arkansas, where he was a large farmer, dying there in 1869. Of his marriage with Elizabeth Moberly six children were born, Hugh L. being the youngest and the only one living. Mrs. Hamilton died in 1864 at her home in Arkansas.

Hugh L. Hamilton was eight years of age when his father died. His grandfather then took him to Cass County, Mo., where he remained until 1872, when he came to California, making his home with his uncle, Hugh Hamilton. Here he lived until the death of the uncle, October 3, 1883. Before this, however, in 1881, he had purchased two hundred and forty acres of land on section 2, which now adjoins the town of Exeter. Following the death of his uncle, Mr. Hamilton engaged in the grain and stock business in which he has continued to be interested up to the present time. In addition to the land mentioned, he has from time to time made other purchases, some of which he has sold, but he still retains one hundred acres of the land adjoining the town.

Aside from his farming and stock business, Mr. Hamilton has followed his trade, that of a blacksmith, for several years, having opened the first shop in this section of the country. This he did for his own accommodation, but was soon compelled to do custom work for his neighbors, it being the only shop in this part of the county. Being a natural mechanic. Mr. Hamilton enjoyed the work and has continued his shop up to the present time. In addition to general blacksmithing work he also builds wagons and does other work of a like nature, and it has been said there is nothing to be constructed of iron and wood that Mr. Hamilton cannot make.

Mr. Hamilton has been twice married, his first wife being Miss Mildred Ferril, a native of Missouri, and a daughter of John Ferril, who came to Tulare county in 1881 and now lives near Exeter. Mrs. Hamilton became the mother of five children, namely: Mary Leta,, Hugh Meredith, John Henry (deceased), Camilla, Eleanor and Milton Ferril. The mother of this family died January 15, 1895. In 1897 Mr. Hamilton married Ida M. Butts, who was born near Visalia, a daughter of James H. Butts, who now lives in Hanford. This marriage resulted in the birth of two children: Harry Wheeler and Marion Gertrude. The latter died very suddenly November 22, 1904, falling dead while playing with her little brother.

In political belief Mr. Hamilton is a Democrat and has taken quite an active part in the affairs of the county, serving for a time as a, member of the county central committee. He has also been active in schoolwork, being a member of the board of trustees of the Exeter district. Fraternally he belongs to the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Knights of Pythias. In both these lodge rooms he is at all times a welcome visitor, being popular with a large circle of acquaintances. Mr. Hamilton has an assured position in the affairs of Tulare County, where he has spent so many years.

History of Los Angeles County page 649

R. MONROE Thurman, of Pomona, is a representative of one of the early American families who settled in the San Gabriel Valley. He was born in Bledsoe County, Tennessee, July 22, 1840, son of John arid Lettie Jane Thurman, who emigrated from there to Johnson County, Arkansas, in 1848, where he tilled the soil until February, 1852. Then they formed a portion of a party of about sixty-five families who crossed the plains, deserts and mountains to this sunny, golden hand. The family was destined not to reach the promised land without the greatest of bereavements, for, at the copper mines in Arizona, the mother, who had hoped so much from the journey and toiled so hard in preparation for it, and so well cared for the children through so many trials, died. Sadly and tenderly was she buried, and tearfully the family turned westward and pursued their way, now so lonely, which ended in the San Gabriel Valley, near where El Monte now is, in September, 1852. The father went to Tuolumne County and there for a time engaged in mining. Returning to this county in 1853 he located one amid a half miles south of El Monte, in the neighborhood of the Temple Ranch. There he engaged in farming until 1855, when he bought land between Savannah and El Monte, just west of the New San Gabriel River, remaining there until 1867. He then moved to the "Willow Grove," or Thompson Hotel, where he owned sixty acres of valuable land, and followed agriculture the rest of his active life. His death occurred July 6, 1876, at the age of sixty-eight years. The names of the eight children of the ten born to him, who lived to come to California with him, are: Nellie, now wife of John Hicks, an early comer to this county, but now a resident of Fresno; Frank, still a resident of San Gabriel Valley; Ephraim, who died in the mining districts of Tuolumne County; Margaret, the deceased wife of Thomas C. Swagard, of this county; R. Monroe, whose name heads this sketch; Stephen D., who resides near El Monte, and whose history is in this work; Alexander, who resides upon a portion of the Willow Grove property; his sketch also appears in this connection; and John S., a resident of Los Angeles. John Thurman was a strong man physically and mentally, well known and favorably remembered by early men. He was an active promoter of religion and of all good work. His life was so well spent that he won the respect of all who knew him. R. Monroe Thurman remained at his father's home until 1868, when he wedded Miss Dora Belle Fuqua, daughter of Isham and Joanna (Hathway) Fuqua. Her father was born in the State of Virginia, came to California, and after a time spent in San Diego County, located in that county, near El Monte, in 1854. Mr. Thurman, after his marriage, engaged in farming just west of Savannah, where lie lived until 1887, and where he owned originally a property consisting of 120 acres, seventy-eight of which he sold to L. J. Rose, of Los Angeles. In 1887 Mr. Thurman located in the beautiful, thriving city of Pomona, where he now lives, having his home on Crow avenue, between Garey and Gibbs streets, in a neat cottage. He is interested in horticulture, having an orchard of five acres in apricots, apples, peaches and prunes. Mr. Thurman also owns a lot and two cottages on Thomas and Fourth streets. He makes a business of grading and general street improving by contract. A thorough practical man, he is winning his way to independence by steps sure not to be retraced. Mrs. Thurman's parents are now residents of Pomona. She is the mother of eight children: Nellie, wife of William Willis, of Pomona; R. Monroe, Jr., Joanna, Alice, William B., Allen La Verne, Robert De Long and Bert. Mr. Thurman is a member of Pomona Lodge, No.225, A. 0. U. W. In political action he is a strong, conservative Democrat.

History of Los Angeles County Page 710

J. M. BRADY, of the firm of Brodersen & Brady, real-estate agents at Long Beach, has been a resident of Los Angeles County since 1875. He was born in Lawrence County, Mississippi, in 1844, and is the son of J. R. and Martha A. (Williams) Brady, the former a native of Georgia and the latter of Florida. The subject of this sketch is a true type of the Southern gentleman, and shows in his home that hospitality amid genial welcome for which the Southern people are so noted. His father was a farmer, and died in 1866. He had a family of eleven children, only four of whom are living. J. M. Brady entered the Southern army in Kelson's Heavy Artillery, in 1862, and served until the chose of the war. After its close he returned home, and married Miss Malona Dean. He was permitted to enjoy her companionship for only a brief time. One year and a half after their marriage death called her away. In the fall of 1867 Mr. Brady went to Texas, and in 1868 was united in marriage to Miss Mary L. Shrode, of Texas. They have a very interesting family of six children: Martha E., Calvin K., Sarah E., Dora B., James H. amid William T. Both Mr. and Mrs. Brady are supporters of the Southern Methodist Church. Mr. Brady is a worthy arid respected citizen, and is honored and esteemed by the community in which he resides, holding at present the office of school trustee in Long Beach, and also serving as district roadmaster in his district. Politically he affiliates with the Democratic Party, is conservative in his views, and always exerts his influence on the side of justice and right.

History of Los Angeles County - Page 651

ALEXANDER L. THURMAN, another member of the Thurman family who be came identified with San Gabriel Valley in the year of 1852, has ever since resided near where his father established his first home, and now resides upon a portion of the estate occupied by his father at his death--the old "Willow Grove" property, just east of El Monte. For a full history of the family, of the overhand journey, the death of the mother on the plains of Arizona, the location in San Gabriel Valley in September, 1852, the occupation and changes of residence of the father, his death, the whereabouts of the living members, etc., the reader is referred to the biographical sketch of R. Monroe Thurman, of Pomona, just given. Alexander L. Thurman, the subject of this sketch, was born in Bledsoe County, Tennessee, April 9, 1846, son of John and Lettie Jane Thurman. He was but two years of age when the family emigrated to Johnson County, Arkansas, and only in his sixth year when the overland journey commenced, bound for Los Angeles County. Many of the incidents connected with the long, weary journey, particularly the death of his mother, are indelibly impressed upon his memory. His boyhood days were all spent near his present home, and his education was obtained in the schools of his neighborhood.

His manhood life, with the exception of a few months in Montana in 1879, has all been spent in the San Gabriel Valley, and all devoted to agricultural pursuits. He has seen the country pass from an almost chaotic condition to its present commanding position, and in much of the work of transformation has had a part, although he has not become rich. He has always lived up to his obligations and acted the part of the manly, worthy citizen; and if but little besides the record of an honorable life be left as a legacy to his children, they still will not be poor. February 11, 1880, Mr. Thurman wedded Miss Anna Prouty, daughter of Joseph and Margaret Prouty. Mrs. Thurman was born in Amador County, California, February 19, 1862. She is the mother of three children: Joseph C., Hugh C. and Enos E. The home of Mrs. Thurman's parents is now near El Monte Station. In politics Mr. Thurman acts with the Democratic Party. He is connected with the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and is the financier of El Monte Lodge, No.188. The old "Willow Grove" property, where his father spent .his last years, and, as stated, where he owns a portion of the same, is near El Monte, a little east.

History of Venture County page 146


One of the owners of extensive farming interests in Ventura County, and also closely identified with the business affairs of Ojai, is the gentleman whose name appears at the head of this sketch. His present high position in his community has been attained through his own efforts, his persistency of purpose and his determination, and the success which is the reward of all earnest effort is today his. Judge Boyd E. Gabbert is easily the peer of any of his fellows in the qualities that constitute correct manhood and good citizenship and he is what he is from natural endowment and self-culture. He was born on a farm near De Soto, Dallas county, Iowa, on the 4th of April, 1883 and when about one year old was brought by his parents to Ventura county, California, where he has spent practically his entire subsequent life. He attended the El Rio grammar school and then was graduated from the Ventura high school. He was reared to the life of a farmer and on attaining mature years took up that line of work on his own account, operating a farm on the Las Posas, near El Rio, his principal products being grain and beans.

He came to Ojai in 1915 and became one of the organizers of the Ojai Realty Company, dealers in real estate and insurance, an enterprise which has been successful financially and has also in a large measure contributed to the development and upbuilding of this locality. He is still the owner of one hundred and fifty acres of land on the Las Posas, where he is raising fine crops of beans and hay. The ranch is well improved in every respect and is a very valuable property. Judge Gabbert has rendered effective and important service as justice of the peace, which office he has held for some time, and has gained a splendid reputation for the justice and fairness of his decisions. He is well versed in the fundamentals of the law and has dignified and honored the position which he holds.

On September 5, 1904, Judge Gabbert was married to Miss Zoe Healey, who is a native of California, and they are the parents of two children, Walker H. and Zoella M. Fraternally he is a member of Ventura Lodge No. 1430, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is a man of broad views and sound opinions on the leading questions of the day, gives his hearty support to all measures calculated to advance the public welfare and contributes generously to all worthy benevolent causes.

History of Venture County page 453


Myron Howard Gabbert, one of the energetic and progressive farmers of Ventura county, carrying on operations on the old Dixie Thompson ranch in the neighborhood of Ventura, is a native of the Hawkeye state but has been a resident of California since the days of his childhood, all his conscious recollections thus being based on his experiences here, and he therefore regards himself as much a Californian as any. Mr. Gabbert was born on a farm in Madison County, Iowa, February 20, 1880, and is the eldest of the six sons born to the Hon. Thomas G. and Ella (Peters) Gabbert, the latter of whom was born in the state of Minnesota but was reared in Iowa.

The Hon. Thomas G. Gabbert, chairman of the board of supervisors for Ventura county and a former member of the legislature, representing this district, was born in Iowa in 1854, a member of one of the real pioneer families in the south central section of that state. He received a business college education and engaged in farming in his native state after his marriage, remaining there until in 1883, when he closed out his holdings there and with his family came to California, establishing himself in Ventura county, of which he has been one of the prominent personal factors for more than forty years. Mr. Gabbert became a considerable landowner in this county and developed some good farm property. In 1909 he moved to Ventura and has since made that city his home, his attention being chiefly given to his realty interests. In 1900 he was elected a member of the board of county supervisors and by reelection was retained in that important office for eight years. In 1912 he was elected to represent his district in the legislature and in 1916 was appointed to fill a vacancy on the board of county supervisors and by subsequent elections has been continued in that office, for the past four years being chairman of the same.

Myron H. Gabbert was but three years of age when in 1883 his parents came with their family to Ventura County and he was here reared. He was given a high school education and as a young man was a helpful factor in the labors of improving and developing the home farm. In 1902, not long after attaining his majority, he began farming on his own account and has since been thus engaged. For some time his operations were carried on near El Rio but since 1912 he has lived on his present place, which is a portion of the Dixie Thompson ranch, he and his brother, Clarence Gabbert, doing well there in the cultivation of beans. They are operating one hundred and thirty-five acres and their methods are those of the up-to-date agriculturist.

On June 29, 1904, at Camarillo, Mr. Gabbert was united in marriage to Miss Mabel Jones, daughter of Mrs. N. M. Jones, and they have two sons, Howard M. and James Edward Gabbert. Mr. and Mrs. Gabbert are republicans and have ever given their interested and helpful attention to local civic affairs as well as to the general social I affairs of the community in which they reside and in which they are so well known.

History of Venture County page 91


Thomas G. Gabbert, who has been successfully engaged in the real estate and insurance business at Ventura during the past seventeen years, has also long figured prominently in the public life of the community and has been a member of the board of county supervisors continuously since 1916, having now been chairman thereof for four years. The period of his residence in Ventura County covers more than four decades, for it was in 1883 that he left the Hawkeye state to come to California. His birth occurred on a farm in Madison County, Iowa, on the 11th of January 1854, his parents being Jacob and Mary J. (Bonine) Gabbert, both of whom are deceased. The father devoted his attention to general agricultural pursuits throughout his active business career.

Thomas G. Gabbert obtained his early education in the public schools of his native state and thereafter earned the money which enabled him to pursue a course of study in Baylies Business College of Keokuk, Iowa, from which he was graduated in 1876. Subsequently he was engaged in farming until 1883, when he disposed of his holdings in Iowa and made his way westward to Ventura county, California. He followed farming at Saticoy for two years following his arrival here and next spent several years on the Limoneira ranch. Mr. Gabbert then removed to El Rio, before the city of Oxnard was built, and for a period of eleven years worked the old Pinkard ranch, consisting of several hundred acres. It was in 1892 that he purchased part of the Las Posas ranch and greatly improved the property, while in 1899 he acquired two thousand acres of land at Moorpark. Part of the latter place is still in his possession, but he sold a large portion of it after making improvements thereon. In 1909 he purchased an additional tract of one hundred and fifty acres at Las Posas. Two years prior to that time he bad acquired eighty acres of the old Santa Clara del Norte grant near El Rio. Here he remained until he took up his permanent abode at Ventura in 1909 and in this city has since devoted his time and energies to the field of real estate and insurance with most gratifying results.

On February 27, 1879, Mr. Gabbert was united in marriage to Miss Ella Peters, who was born in Minnesota but was reared in Iowa. They are the parents of six sons, namely: Myron H., John R., Boyd E., Richard Clarence, Harry G. and Thomas A. All are married and reside in California. Mr. and Mrs. Gabbert also have nine grandchildren.

In his political views Mr. Gabbert is an unswerving republican. He was elected to the office of supervisor in 1900 and retired from the board after eight years of efficient service, having acted as chairman during four years of that period. In 1912 he was chosen to represent his district in the state legislature, in which he served most acceptably for one term, giving thoughtful and earnest consideration to the many vital questions which came up for settlement. While a member of the lawmaking body he was chosen chairman of the committee on roads and highways and also was a member of the ways and means committee. In 1916 Mr. Gabbert was appointed by Governor Johnson to fill a vacancy on the board of county supervisors, of which he has remained a member continuously to the present time, while for four years he has presided as chairman. He belongs to the Ventura Chamber of Commerce, of which he served as president in 1910, is also a charter member of the Rotary Club and likewise has membership in the Ventura Country Club. He is very fond of outdoor life. In fraternal circles he is known as a Royal Arch Mason and also as a member of the local organization of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. At all times Mr. Gabbert has manifested a deep and helpful interest in the advancement of Ventura city and county. He believes that it would be a wise civic project to provide recreational centers for the future while desirable sites are still available in the mountains and on the beaches, with which purpose he has advocated a bond issue for the purchase of these beauty spots by the county.


Thomas G. GABBETT (no R) Died age 83, spouse E P in Ventura Sep 30 1937

Ella P. Spouse T G died age 81 in Ventura Aug 31 1938

History of Ventura County - Page 279 ETTA C. WILLIS.

A thorough believer in the doctrine of work, Etta C. Willis was long a prominent figure in business circles of Oxnard, contributing her full quota toward the development and progress of the town, and is now living retired. She was born in Iowa and located in Saticoy, Ventura County, in 1890, joining her sister, Ellen Willis. They were employed for some time in the Charles Hotel, which was one of the old landmarks of the town and was recently demolished. In July 1900, they came to Oxnard and started a small restaurant on Fifth Street. Both were excellent cooks and their place soon became popular. Later the building was sold and they opened a cafe in the old Colonial building. They also leased a rooming house, located over the post office, and prospered in both ventures.

After selling the cafe the subject of this sketch leased the Hotel Oxnard and furnished the building, which she operated alone from 1911 until 1916. She maintained a high standard of service and the hotel found favor with the traveling public. On disposing of the business she entered the field of merchandising, opening the Wonder Shop, which she stocked with a fine assortment of glass and crockery. She displayed foresight, initiative and executive ability in the conduct of the business and established a large trade. Miss Willis remained at the head of the shop until April 1926, when she sold the business, and is now enjoying a well-deserved period of leisure. She has lived in Oxnard for more than a quarter of a century, evincing at all times a deep interest in projects for its advancement and betterment, and her many admirable qualities have drawn to her a large and ever widening circle of loyal friends.

Her sister Ellen was also a capable businesswoman and occupied a high place in the esteem of the residents of this community. She became the wife of Andrew J. Anderson, and she was called to her final rest in 1922.

From CADI:

Ellen W. ANDERSON, Spouse A J died age 64 in Los Angeles County Jan 18 1922.

A Memorial and biographical history of the counties of Fresno, Tulare and Kern, California page 785

C. A. YANCEY, rancher and hotel-keeper at Toll House, was born in Albemarle County, Virginia, in 1833. His father, R. H. Yancey was for many years the Sheriff of same County, and also operated the well-known Yancey Mill. He emigrated to Joe Daviess County, Illinois in 1835, and then carried on general farming. Young Yancey was educated at the public schools, and lived at home until 1850, when he came across the plains to California. He came with the Miller & Harper Emigrant Train, who charged for transportation one-half of first year's receipts. The company was quite large, and they divided at the junction of the Fort Hall and Salt Lake route, and after traveling over 1,000 miles - as a singular coincidence - the trains again united with the union of the two trails. and arrived at Hangtown, September 22,1850. Young Yancey then followed mining in Amador County about one year, and in 1852 bought a team and began freighting from Stockton to the mining districts, which he followed until 1856, and then bought a ranch and ran a hotel on the north side of the San Joaquin river. He followed ranching until 1858 and then went into the stock business, which he followed until 1868. He then came to Toll House and bought a claim of about 900 acres and built a hotel 18 x 90 feet, with a dining room 20 x 40 feet, and he has since built up the town around him-consisting of six dwellings, box factory 30 x 80 feet, blacksmith shop, store and the necessary barns and outbuildings, all of which he owns and rents. He is ever ready to build for a renter, but says he has nothing to sell.

Mr. Yancey went there without a dollar in ready cash, and the results speak volumes for his enterprise and business sagacity. he carries on general farming and all the decidious fruits grow to advantage.

Mr. Yancey was, married at Millerton in 1860 to Mrs. Black, a widow with two children, a daughter of Judge Gillum Baley. Mr. and Mrs. Yancey have had nine children, but three only survive. They lost five children inside of eleven days in a terrible epidemic of diphtheria.

Mr. Yancey was appointed postmaster of Toll House tinder the administration of President Hayes in 1876.

He was a charter member of the first Odd Fellow Lodge established at Millerton.

History of the State of California and biographical record of the San Joaquin Valley, California: Page 1575

THOMAS JACKSON SIMPSON. One of Fresno county's native sons, Mr. Simpson is a son of John G. Simpson, a pioneer of California, who came here from Missouri, the state of his nativity, in 1850, the long journey being made via the southern route. Mr. Simpson was accompanied by ex-Governor Edwards, of Missouri. The winter of 1850-51 was spent in New Mexico, the trio being renewed in the spring. Arriving at Stockton, Mr. Simpson there worked at teaming until 1855, when he removed to Millerton and engaged in the livery business until 1858, when he sold out and started a stock business in partnership with J. N. Musick. This association was continued until 1865, at which time the firm dissolved partnership and Mr. Simpson continued in the. stock business alone until his death. In 1856 he was in the Indian campaign in Tulare county, and in every way took an active part in the pioneer work of the state. His death, at the early age of forty-seven years, was much regretted by all. He was one of the first stockmen to locate on Dry creek, and was one of the early supervisors of that county. He purchased land at what is now Academy, and before his death accumulated nearly six thousand acres. He was one of the builders of the Academy on Dry creek, being a director of the company. This school was for years one of the best in the state. In fraternal relations he was a member of the Odd Fellows and in politics was a stanch Democrat.

His wife bore the maiden name of Sarah M. Baley. She was a native of Missouri and a daughter of W. Wright Baley, a brother of Judge Gillam, who came to California in 1849. Mr. Baley crossed the plains and settled at Visalia, where he was for some years engaged in teaming between the latter place and Stockton. He died at his home on Dry creek. His wife died at her home near Academy.

To Mr. and Mrs. Simpson were born seven children, as follows: Mary K., who married Henry Hazelton and has since died; William, who was drowned in the canal near Sanger while bathing; Thomas J., our subject; Marvin, John G. and George P., all living at Academy; Lizzie, the wife of John Fly, a stockman living at Academy.

Thomas J. Simpson was born July 13, 1866. His early life was spent on the farm, while his education was received in the academy at Academy. When but eleven years of age his father died and from that time until he left home he took an active part in the work of the farm. At the age of twenty he started out to make his own way in the world, beginning as a sheep rancher on rented land fourteen miles from Fresno. In 1886 he bought five hundred head of sheep from John Baley's partner, the partnership thus formed continuing for two years, when Mr. Baley sold Out to William R. Simpson. In 1889 T. J. Simpson disposed of his interest in the business to his brother, William R., they owning at the time five thousand head of sheep. Soon after selling, Mr. Simpson became interested in the cattle business and a little later established his brand, "P. L.," which is known all through the cattle country. He has nine hundred acres of land on Dry creek, below Academy, which is all fenced and improved. Here he is engaged in an extensive grain business, although the place is rented, making it possible for Mr. Simpson to devote his entire time to his cattle interests. His range is located in the Sierras, about eighteen miles east of his ranch, where he and his brother own valuable range land.

In Academy Mr. Simpson married Miss Eleanor Ann Perry, a native daughter of Fresno county. Her father, Peter Perry, settled here and engaged in farming on Kings river. To Mr. and Mrs. Simpson have been born the following children: Edwin R., Ina May, Thomas Russell, Hugh, Annie Laurie, Mary Elizabeth and Ruth. Mr. and Mrs. Simpson are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South Mr. Simpson being a member of the official board. In politics he is a Democrat, but has never cared to enter the arena of public life, but at all times has been found ready and willing to perform the duties devolving upon him as a citizen. His success in life is the result of his own efforts, and while he is still a young man, he is considered one of the substantial residents of the county and is very popular with all his associates.

History of the State of California and biographical record of the San Joaquin Valley, California: page 1500

JOHN G. SIMPSON, SR. No state in the Union maintains a deeper pride in her pioneers than does California, nor has any state a greater reason for so doing. It is the pioneers of California who by their hardships and sacrifices rendered possible the comforts of the present era. Their patient courage was the foundation stone upon which the permanent superstructure of a commonwealth was built; their zeal was a constant bulwark against disappointments, and their enterprise founded towns, improved farms and made the "desert to bloom as the rose." Among such pioneers an honored place belongs to the late John G. Simpson, Sr., whose memory is treasured as that of a resourceful citizen and kind friend, and whose name is perpetuated by descendants inheriting the qualities that inspired his successful career.

On a farm in Kentucky, John G. Simpson was born October 22, 1829, and from there he went to Missouri with his parents, Robert and Keziah (Greenup) Simpson, settling with them on a tract of raw land in Miller county, where they remained until death. At the time of attaining young manhood he was confronted by the opportunity to settle in California, concerning which but little was known. Desiring to seek his fortune amid the untried conditions of the coast he started with ox-teams across the plains, being a member of the party under Governor Edwards, with whom also came Joseph C. Thompson of Fresno county. At first he tried his luck at mining in Mariposa county, but the result was unsatisfactory, and he turned his attention to teaming from Fort Millerton to Stockton and the mountains. The next venture in which he became interested was a butcher and stock business with J. X. Musick as a partner. On the dissolution of the partnership in 1861 he became interested in ranching, at first renting land on Dry creek and later entering land from the government. Coming to the vicinity of Academy, Fresno county, in 1863, Mr. Simpson began to buy land and sheep, and eventually acquired the title to about eight sections. The qualities which made him successful in the acquisition of property contributed to his pre-eminence in other departments of activity. The Democratic party, to which he always gave steadfast support, for many years retained him in the office of county superintendent of schools, and as a director he aided in the building of the academy. Indeed, the cause of education in this vicinity bad no supporter more stanch than he, and his advice was often sought by those in whose hands rested the training of the youth of this locality. Fraternally he held membership with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and in religious connections affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church South, in whose large and devoted congregation he became a leader by force of his upright character, sincere Christian life and sagacious judgment. The marriage of John G. Simpson was solemnized at Visalia September 13, 1859, and united him with Miss Sarah M. Baley, who was born in Nodaway county, Mo. The Baley family is of eastern extraction. William Baley, an easterner by birth and education, followed the tide of emigration westward and settled among the pioneers of Missouri, where he passed his remaining years on a farm. Among his children was a son; William Wright Baley, a native of Madison county, Mo., and for some years a farmer in Nodaway county, that state. When the discovery of gold in California in 1848 drew the eyes of the entire world to this section he determined to try the fickle goddess, Fortune, in the far-distant regions. The year 1849 found him a pioneer emigrant on the plains, where he traveled with Judge Gillam Baley. Naturally the mines Were his goal and, still following the experience of others, he had no especial good luck in the mines, yet the months were not wholly unfruitful of results. Returning to Missouri in 1852 William Wright Baley took up agricultural pursuits which he had relinquished for the more adventurous life of a miner. In 1857 he again started for the west, this time accompanied by his family. The second trip was marked by misfortune. After having spent the winter at Albuquerque the party proceeded westward via the Colorado river and there one evening suffered an attack from a large number of savage Indians. The white men were conquered by superior numbers and were forced to helplessly watch the red men drive their stock across the river. Left without any means of proceeding on their journey, men, women and children walked back to Albuquerque. A search there for new equipment was almost a failure, but they finally secured a few thin cattle and started agai in for the west. Soon the cattle gave out and were killed and eaten by the little band of almost starved emigrants. Again they were forced to return to Albuquerque, this time driven by pangs of keenest hunger. Their condition was pitiable in the extreme. Footsore and starving, they finally landed in the town, where comforts were procured for the suffering crowd. It was remarked by all that the women of the party had endured all of the hardships of this memorable journey without uttering a word of complaint; the frightful sufferings were endured with a patience born of true heroism, nor did they give up in despair although it became necessary for them to walk the entire distance to California.

After having passed through Los Angeles in the fall of 1858 William Wright Baley settled at Visalia and engaged in teaming. Later he removed to Stockton. About 1865 he embarked in the stock business on Big Dry creek, Fresno county, and here he continued to make his home until he died in 1883. His wife, who, bore the maiden name of Nancy Funderburk, was born in Tennessee and died in California. They were the parents of the following children: Sarah M., Mrs. Simpson, of Fresno county; Nancy J., who died at Visalia; Henry, a resident of Fresno; Berthena, who died in Missouri; William Washington, a stock-raiser and farmer at Tollhouse, Fresno county; G. Pierce, a merchant and farmer at Tollhouse; Caleb, who conducts a hotel at Tollhouse; Mary, who died in infancy on the Gila river; Benjamin, who died after the family settled on Big Dry creek; John, a farmer near Academy; and Dolly, Mrs. Parker, whose husband is a minister at Sanger, Fresno county.

As a child Mrs. Simpson was a pupil in subscription schools held in log buildings near her Missouri home, and naturally her advantages were few, yet she has attained a broad knowledge and is a woman of refinement. Since the death of her husband she has continued to reside at the old homestead near Academy, where she owns almost eleven hundred acres and makes a specialty of the stock business. For many years she has been identified with the Methodist Episcopal Church South, whose activities have in her a generous contributor and encouraging assistant. In her family there were seven children, but two have passed from earth, namely: Mary, Mrs. Henry Hazelton, who died at Academy; and William who was accidentally drowned in 1893 while bathing in Double ditch, at the age of thirty years. The sons and daughter now living are as follows: Thomas Jackson, Marvin and John G., all of whom operate large stock ranches near Academy; Lizzie, wife of John Fly, of Academy; and George Pierce, who conducts a stock ranch near Academy, Fresno county.

History of the State of California and biographical record of the San Joaquin Valley, California: Page 1501

GEORGE PIERCE SIMPSON. Representative of one of the pioneer families of California is the progressive young stock-raiser whose lifelong identification with the county, intimate knowledge of its history, thorough familiarity with its soil and wide acquaintance among its people make him a forceful personality in a locality rapidly gaining prestige as one of the desirable locations afforded by the state. Having known no other home than the county of his present residence, Mr. Simpson naturally feels the deepest interest in the development of its material resources and in the enlargement of its products, and in his own chosen occupation he has accomplished much to benefit the citizenship of the district.

The record of the family appears in the sketch of John G. Simpson, a pioneer of honored memory, for years one of the liberal, popular and resourceful residents of this part of the state. George Pierce Simpson, who was the youngest son of this pioneer, was born at the family home in Academy, Cal., December 18, 1877, and recieved his education in local schools. Habits of close observation and extensive general reading perhaps have accomplished more for him in the development of a broad culture and the attainment of a liberal education than the study of text-books made possible. Until twenty-one years of age he remained at home, meanwhile preparing himself for life's activities by industry, perseverance and energetic application to the work in hand. In 1889 he established his headquarters on his present property at Academy, where he has erected necessary buildings, made important improvements and established a growing business as a stockman. In addition to superintending this property of eight hundred and thirty-five acres, he owns a ranch of three hundred and twenty acres in the Sycamore district, in the foot-hills, where he has the advantage of an abundance of range for his cattle.

The marriage of Mr. Simpson united him with Miss Imogene Humphreys, a native of Mechanicsville district, this county. In an early day her father, J. C. Humphreys, crossed the plains from Tennessee to California with ox-teams and after becoming a resident of the west supplemented the blacksmith's trade with the occupation of general farmer and stock-raiser, making his home at Mechanicsville. He is now a resident of San Bernardino county. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Simpson has been blessed by two sons, George Walter and Herbert Wright. Though not desiring political prominence, Mr. Simpson keeps thoroughly posted concerning matters affecting the welfare of the people, and has voted the Democratic ticket in all elections. Being of a genial, companionable disposition, he has found pleasure in the activities of fraternal organizations, and has identified himself with the Eagles at Fresno and with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Sanger.

A Memorial and biographical history of the counties of Fresno, Tulare and Kern, California: page 554

JUDGE S. H. HILL - Prominent among the pioneers of Fresno County we find the name of Judge S. H. Hill. He was born in Williamson County, Tennessee, in 1822. His father was for many years Sheriff of that county, and was serving in that capacity when the civil war broke out in 1861. He took the Confederate oath, and while in the service was taken prisoner by the Union army and was conveyed to Dayton, Ohio. He was there treated with great respect, and, after a confinement of six months, was released and paroled. His death occurred in 1881, at the ripe old age of eighty-one years.

S. H. Hill was educated in Williamson County, and finished his studies in the Boiling Spring Academy, in 1840. He then went to Nashville, Tennessee, where he was employed as clerk until the beginning of the Mexican war. He enlisted in "Bob" Foster's company, under Colonel W. G. Campbell, Second Tennessee Regiment, for one year, going to Point Isabella, Texas, and then across to Monterey, where they had a little fight, but no heavy service. Upon the expiration of his term of enlistment he went to New Orleans. There he re-entered the service, enlisting in Company F of Second Regiment, Illinois Volunteers, and was elected Second Lieutenant of the company. They were sent to Vera Cruz, but arrived after the battle; then to San Juan, and garrisoned Jalapa for six months, the city being in command of Colonel Hughes, of Baltimore. They remained there until peace was declared. On return to New Orleans, July 4, 1848, there was a great demonstration, and Zachary Taylor made the leading speech. The regiment was then sent to Alton, Illinois, where they were discharged.

Mr. Hill returned home for a visit, and soon afterward secured employment as steamboat clerk on the old Governor Jones, which plied between Nashville and New Orleans, remaining thus engaged until 1850. He then went to Ray County, Missouri, and for nine years taught in the public schools of that county. In 1859, with Josh. B. Craven, E. S. and Samuel Kincaid, he started with ox teams for Pike's Peak. At Ft. Laramie they met and had a long talk with Horace Greeley, It was his opinion that Pike's Peak was over-estimated, and he advised them to push on to California, which they did, passing through Virginia City and arriving at Hangtown, near Placerville, in September, 1859. Instead of visiting the mines, they came direct to King's river, where W. W. Hill, a brother of our subject, was living. W. W. Hill was elected County Treasurer in 1868, and served in that capacity for six years.

In 1862, S. H. Hill began teaching school at Millerton, and later at Centerville and Kingston, following this profession until 1875. During these years he served as County Superintendent and organized the first public school in the county. In 1875 he was elected Justice of the Peace of Fresno, and located here. For fourteen years, until January, 1889, he served faithfully in this judicial position. During his residence in this county lie. has acquired considerable real estate, being now the owner of 320 acres of land west of Fresno. and much valuable city property.

Judge Hill was first married in Missouri, in 1855, to Miss Anna Kincaid. After his settlement in California she was unwilling to come here to reside, and they separated by mutual consent, By her be had two children, who have visited him in his western home. In 1876 he was married, in Fresno, to Miss S. B. Baley, daughter of Judge Gillum Baley, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work.

The Judge is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 186, I.O.O.F.

History of the State of California and biographical record of the San Joaquin Valley, California, page 1361

CHARLES M. McCARDLE. The McCardle family has been prominent in the pioneer history of this section, where James McCardle located many years ago. He was a native of Belfast Ireland, at the age of thirteen Years leaving his home and going to Liverpool, England, from which port he shipped as a sailor before the mast. His first long trip was around Cape Horn and tip the Pacific coast, and his second trip was made in the fall of 1848. Arriving in San Francisco he left the vessel, going first to Sacra-mento, thence to Tuolumne county, and later locating in Mariposa county, where for some years he followed both placer and quartz mining. He finally engaged in a mercantile enterprise and also the raising of stock becoming prominent in Fresno county, where he located in 1873. In 1874 he was elected constable, when he removed to Fresno, and was later elected deputy sheriff. In 1884 he resigned that office and bought an interest in what was known afterward as the Smith & McCardle Lumber mill at Pine Ridge. This business he continued successfully until his death, which occurred in 1898. Politically he was a stanch Democrat and took in active part in the workings of this party in Fresno county. Fraternally he was a charter member of Fresno Lodge No. 186, I. O. O. F., at Millerton, the pioneer lodge of this organization in the county and in this he served all the offices. His wife, formerly Ellen G. Baley, was a native of Missouri and the daughter of Judge Gillum Baley, who came to California across the plains with ox-teams in 1852. Judge Baley engaged in mining until 1859, when he returned east and brought his family back to California across the plains. He located them near Chowchilla, Mariposa county, where he followed mining, for a time, then removed to the old toll house of Fresno county, where he engaged in general farming and stockraising. He was elected county judge when the county seat was at Millerton, and held the office two terms; the county seat was afterward removed to Fresno. He then located in this city, where he engaged in the mercantile business until his death at the age of eighty-five years. His wife, formerly Parmelia Myers, survives him, making her home in the city of Fresno, at the age of eighty-five years. Mrs. McCardle is also living, residing, upon her ranch in the Arizona Colony. She is the mother of three daughters and four sons, of whom Charles M. McCardle, the subject of this review, is the third in order of birth.

A native son of the state, Charles M. McCardle was born at Fine Gold (now O'Neils), fifteen miles above Fort Miller November 7, 1869. He was reared and educated in Fresno and at the age of thirteen years was apprenticed to learn the blacksmith's trade, serving four years in this capacity. He continued at his trade for three more years, being employed at the Fresno Agricultural Works, then followed the lumber business for about four years. He then accepted a position in the grocery of R. B. Parker, maintaining a clerkship until his nomination for the public office which he now holds, that of county recorder. The memorable fight of 1902 attracted considerable attention in this section of the state. The general returns gave Barstow, the Republican candidate, the election by eighteen votes, when he obtained a certificate and assumed the duties of the office. Mr. McCardle filed contest and secured a recount, which gave to him the election by forty-eight votes, according to the superior court, and in the supreme court he, was awarded over one hundred votes in majority. He then assumed the duties of the office, entering upon the work November 18, 1904, and although but a short time has elapsed he has already given evidence of the ability and integrity which have won him the esteem and respect of all who knew him in his past career. In Fresno Mr. McCardle was united in marriage with Olivia R. Vogel, a native of Illinois. Her father, Jacob Vogel was formerly engaged in the mercantile business in Clinton, Ill. He came to Fresno in 1886 and became prominent in business affairs, now serving as a director in the First National Bank, of this city. He now resides in Fruitvale, Cal. Mrs. McCardle received her education at Stanford University, and is a woman of culture and refinement. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. McCardle is a Democrat politically and is associated with the Native Sons of the Golden West through membership in Fresno Parlor.

History of the State of California and biographical record of the San Joaquin Valley, California: page 1405

HON. MARVIN SIMPSON. Adding to the prestige of in honored family name the impetus of his own forceful personality, Mr. Simpson has gained a reputation for capability and enter-prise, and deservedly is honored as one of the public-spirited men of Fresno county. His worth as a citizen has been recognized from his youth and his influence has been felt by all com-ing in contact with him in local gatherings or in committee work. As a stanch upholder of Democratic principles, he possesses influence among the local workers of the party and further has wielded influence in the councils of state. In the regular party ticket 1900 he was elected to represent the sixty-third legislative ticket (now the sixty-first) in the lower house of the state legislature, receiving a fair majority of the ballots of the people. hi the session of 1901 he served as a member of the committees on claims, prison and reformatory institutions, public morals and election laws, in each capacity proving himself to he intelligently informed concerning. the needs of the people and the importance of careful legislative action. On the expiration of his term he declined to he a candidate for re-election, and has since devoted himself to the management of his large landed interests.

A lifelong resident of Fresno county, Marvin Simpson was born at Academy, August 31, 1869, and was fourth among the children of John G. and Sarah M. (Baley) Simpson, concerning whom mention appears elsewhere in this work. When he was eight years of age his father died and afterward he remained on the homestead with his mother, receiving such advantages as the Academy school district afforded. Upon attaining his majority he started out for him-self, receiving as his share of the estate an amount sufficient to give him an excellent start in the world. Stock-raising and general farm-ing have been his hobbies (if such they may be called), and there is no department of activity in connection with these specialties, that he can not handle judiciously and with promptness.

It was during 1893 that Marvin Simpson set-tled on his present place near Letcher, Fresno county and began the series of improvements that have converted the property into one of the most desirable for many miles around. In-cluded in the homestead are four hundred and twenty acres three-fourths of a mile east of Academy, in addition to which Simpson owns five hundred and twenty acre,; lying on sections 16, 9 and 8, township 12, range 22; also six hundred and forty acres on sections 26 and 27. township 12, range 22 ; and in addition about Six hundred acres in the foothills and mountains where he ranges his cattle in the summer months ; also, in partnership with his mother two hundred and forty acres on the Middle Fork of the Kings river, forming fine meadow land : and lastly a tract of forty acres five miles northwest of Fresno. The possession of so large a landed estate makes Mr. Simpson one of the Most extensive property owners of his community and gives to him, at all early period of life, considerable influence among the cattlemen and grain-raisers of the eastern half of Fresno county. Some years, ago he sold fifty one acres which is now being developed into a granite quarry. opening a new industry on Bill Dry creek and furnishing monumental granite than which none finer can be found in the entire state.

The marriage of Marvin Simpson was solemnized in Woodville, Tulare county, and united him with Miss Ida May Hedgepeth, who was born, reared and educated in California, and possesses qualities admirably adapting her for high social position. Of their union the children are Myrtle, William Robert and Elizabeth Irene. Mrs. Simpson is a daughter of Rev. Joel and Hester (Anderson) Hedgpeth, natives respectively of Missouri and California, and among seven children of the family (all but one is still living) she was second in order of birth. When a young man Mr. Hedgpeth crossed the plains as a member of Governor Edwards party, some of whom were massacred on the Colorado river in an attack made by Indians. The survivors of the ill-fated expedition, deprived of their oxen, were forced to walk back to Albuquerque, where they arrived in a famished condition. The trials of that memorable journey were borne by women as well as men with fortitude and heroism, and when eventually they reached their destination they had little inclination ever again to brave the terrors of hunger and thirst on the desert. For a long period Mr. Hedgepeth taught school in the central part of California. and in that occupation his splendid education (largely acquired by self-culture) enabled him to wield a large influence for good , over the students under his supervision. Eventually he concentrated his time and attention to the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, in whose work he has been active throughout the state and now preaches to the congregation at Academy. Mentally he is in his prime. although sixty-four busy years have left their trace,; on face and form. In the respect of the community and the affection of his parishioners he occupies all enviable position and with his wife, who also survives, he is enjoying the comfort possible to the twentieth-century citizens of the state.

In their denominational connections Mr. and Mrs. Simpson affiliate with the Methodist Episcopal Church South, in which he serves as a member of the board of trustees and has been a generous contributor to all church activities. In fraternal relations he holds membership with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, at Fresno. Besides the office of assemblyman previously, mentioned, he has served as school trustee for one term but with these exception has declined official recognition, his tastes being less toward public service than toward the peaceful pursuit of his chosen occupation.

History of the State of California and biographical record of the San Joaquin Valley, California: page 1465

JOHN GREENUP SIMPSON. Significant of the advantages offered by Fresno county is the success achieved both by the pioneers and by their sons, the latter of whom, following in the footsteps and reaping the benefit of the labors of their predecessors, now enjoy comforts undreamed of at an earlier period of the county's history. A gratifying degree of material prosperity attended the efforts of the first John G. Simpson and the second bearer of the name no less is worthy of praiseworthy mention in recognition of his intelligent and well-directed activities in the domain of agriculture. Honorably ambitious to secure independence, nevertheless in his enterprises for the advancement of his personal affairs he has lost sight of no duty as a citizen, but ever has shown a public spirit and high ideal of citizenship characteristic of the family.

A lifelong resident of Fresno county, John Greenup Simpson was born at Academy, April 25, 1872, and received a fair education in his native town. The first event of special note in his life was his independent establishment as a farmer, which dates from 1893. During that year he settled near Academy on a tract of eight hundred and twenty acres, lying on sections 9, 10, 16, 12 and 22. This property still continues to be his home and the scene of his activities. The raising of grain and of stock are his specialties, and on his ranch may be found a fine grade of Shorthorns and Herefords, each bearing the brand which he has adopted for his own use in the marking of his stock. As a. stockman he shows keen discrimination in the selection of stock and wise judgment in their breeding, and already he has established a reputation in his chosen line of occupation.

It is worthy of note that Mr. Simpson's wife, like himself, is a native of this locality, having been born near Academy and here reared to womanhood. She was Miss Laura Bacon, youngest child of Thomas E. Bacon, now a resident of Fresno. The children of the union are named Mark Story, John Lawrence and Mildred. No trace of partisan spirit has been noticeable in Mr. Simpson's character, yet he is a stanch Democrat, a pronounced supporter of party measures, and has-rendered efficient service as a member of the county central committee. A thorough believer in the free-school system, his sympathy with educational movements led him to accept the position as school trustee in the Dry Creek district and also he has been helpful to the work through his service as clerk of the board of trustees. The Fraternal Brotherhood at Clovis numbers him among its members and his fraternity relations are further enlarged through association with Manzanita Camp No. 160, W. 0. W., at Fresno. To round out a character of more than ordinary worth, the influence of religion is added. In the work of the Methodist Episcopal Church South Mr. Simpson has given liberally of time, means and influence. His willingness to be of service led him to accept the offices of recording steward and clerk of the board of trustees, in which capacities he has proved most helpful to the congregation. Other plans along lines morally or educationally helpful find in him a stanch ally, ready to give all the assistance in his power for their upbuilding and success.

History of the State of California and biographical record of the San Joaquin Valley, California: Page 1417

JOSEPH COE THOMPSON. Not only by reason of identification with California during the historic period beginning in 1849, but also by virtue of his long association with the stock and farm interests of Fresno county, Mr. Thompson holds a leading position among the citizens of his community. When in 1864 he came to his present location at Lacher few attempts had as yet been made to place the surrounding country under cultivation and he was one of the first settlers along Dry creek. On entering a tract of one hundred and sixty acres, he turned his attention to raising hogs and later became interested in the sheep business, having flocks on his farm and in the mountains. Eventually he embarked in the cattle industry and there now may be seen upon his estate full-brooded highgrade Shorthorn and Hereford cattle, representing as fine breeds as the district can boast. In the homestead he now has three hundred and thirty-two acres on sections 15, 12 and 22; in addition, with his son, James W., he now owns a mountain ranch of two hundred and eighty acres, a stock farm of five hundred and sixty acres known as the Bacon place, and the old Burton place, comprising more than a section of land, which is utilized for a stock ranch.

In tracing the family history of Mr. Thompson we find that his paternal grandfather removed from Maryland to Rockingham county, N. C., and there lived upon a plantation during his remaining years. The father, Henry Thompson, was born on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, and became a teacher in Hardeman county, Tenn., where also he cultivated a farm. After his removal to Missouri in 1839 he became a teacher in Cole county and also improved a farm from a tract of raw land. After more than eighty years he passed to his grave, honored and mourned as a useful citizen and generous friend. While still living in North Carolina he married Elizabeth Lee, who was born in Maryland and from there removed to Rockingham county, N. C., with her father, Willoughby Lee; her death occurred in Missouri. Of her thirteen children all but one attained mature years, but Joseph, the ninth in order of birth, is the sole survivor and the only one who ever settled on the coast. Born in Hardeman county, Tenn., January 24, 1828, he remembers well the privations and hardships of the days of his childhood, and recalls the excitement incident to the removal from Tennessee to Missouri when he was eleven years of age. Later he was a pupil in a school taught by his father in Cole county. The school was held in a log building of primitive construction, erected on land donated by his father, and there the children learned to write with quill pens and gained their ideas of the world from the pages of the blue-backed spelling book.

When the discovery of gold drew thousands to the then unknown regions west of the Rocky mountains Mr. Thompson became fired with enthusiasm on the subject and determined to risk the perils of the overland trip in the search for gold. With a comrade he left home April 28, 1849. After waiting at Independence for some time, they secured outfits and other supplies, and then proceeded with Governor Edwards along the old Santa Fe trail and Cook's route, arriving safely at Los Angeles during the latter part of October. From there they traveled northward through the Tehachapi Pass and the San Joaquin valley. All through what is now Tulare and Fresno counties not a white man was to be seen except a few travelers who, like themselves, were hastening toward the mines. When they reached Mariposa they began to dig for gold, using the old-fashioned method of washing with rockers. The claim proved to be a good one and Mr. Thompson met with reasonable success. The gold thus secured he sent home by express and in, 1853 he journeyed east via Panama and New York, thence to Cole county, Mo. The proceeds of his western trip were invested in a farm and to that new home he brought his bride, Elizabeth Greenup, a native of Missouri. A few years were spent there in reasonable prosperity. However, the thoughts of Mr. Thompson often turned toward the far west, and finally he and his wife decided to seek a home on the coast. In 1861, accompanied by their three children, they went to Panama and from there sailed to San Francisco. Immediately after their arrival they came to Fresno county, where Mr. Thompson engaged for some years in the stock business with N. L. Bachman four miles from the Fresno river. From there he removed to his present place at Letcher, where he and his only son, James W., conduct extensive stock operations. Since the death of his wife in 1875 his home has been presided over by his daughter, Annie L., who looks after his comfort with careful solicitude. His other daughters are dead, the youngest, Isabelle, having died in Missouri at six months; the eldest, Mary, came to California with the family and married Pierce Baley, but a few years later died at Tollhouse, Fresno county. Mrs. Thompson was the daughter of John Greenup, a Kentuckian who became a pioneer of Missouri and spent his last days on his ranch at Dog creek in California.

On the organization of the first board of school directors in his district Mr. Thompson was chosen a trustee. Later he assisted in establishing and building the academy, of which for years he officiated as a trustee. In politics he has been a stanch Democrat, yet not an active partisan. The Methodist Episcopal Church South numbers him among its earnest supporters. Not only has he been liberal in gifts of money, but he has aided, materially through service as trustee, steward and Sunday school superintendent. The denomination with which he is identified merits distinction as the first to enter this field, its original representative, Rev. David Latimer, having engaged in missionary work in this locality as early as 1854, and after him came Rev. Mr. Overton, Rev. Mr. Turner, Rev. B. F. Burris, and other capable and pious laborers on whom the mantle of their distinguished predecessor worthily fell.

A Memorial and biographical history of the counties of Fresno, Tulare and Kern, California: page 370

GILLUM BALEY - Among the long resident citizens of Fresno County, who hold a high place in the esteem and regard of the community, the gentleman whose name heads this sketch is entitled to honorable mention. Coming of the old Virginian stock, he bears the impress of the Southern gentleman, a synonym for good-breeding wherever found. His birthplace was at a point in Gallatin County, Illinois, on the Ohio river, between Flynn's and Ford's Ferry, where he was born June 19, 1813. He was not reared there, however, as, two years later, the father removed the family to Missouri, where he was one of the farmers and stock-raisers of those early days, and a universally respected man in that community. The subject of this sketch, an active lad of thirteen, went back to Illinois, and in Sangamon County, near Cotton Hill, and only a few miles from Springfield, afterward made the State capital, he went to work on a farm. For five years he remained there, and then went further west, to Pike County, where he engaged in similar work. In 1832, only about a year after his removal to Pike County, the trouble with the Indians, which bad long been brewing, culminated in what is known to history as the Black Hawk war, and in this our subject, then a youth of nineteen years, enlisted as a volunteer, and by the division of the command in which he entered became a member of Captain Petty's company. He served with the regiment to which he belonged until it finished its term of service, and was mustered out with the command at Hennepin, Illinois. He then went back to Pike County, and was there married in 1835, to Miss Catherine Decker, who died during the second year of their married life, leaving one son, Moses, who died in California in 1885. In 1836 he returned to Missouri, where he again followed agriculture, and in 1837 he was there married to the companion of his later days, Miss P. E. Myers, a native of Jackson County. When the discovery of gold in California, by Marshall, electrified the civilized world, Mr. Baley was, one of those who was affected and he was one of that brave body of pioneers, who in 1849 crossed the vast stretch of plain and mountain and desert intervening between his home and the far Pacific. For two years be followed the fortunes of the mines in this State, and then went back to rejoin his family in Missouri The favorable impression of California formed during his two years of experience, however, caused him to decide to make it his ultimate place of residence, and in 1858, all preparations having been made, this plan was carried out. In his particular party, though others made the trip with them, were Mr. Baley, his wife and nine children, and his brother, W. R. Baley, and between them they had five wagons and the necessary ox teams to haul them, as well as about 100 bead of cows and stock cattle. The start from home was made on the 22nd of April, and the southern route was chosen on account of the Mormon troubles about Salt Lake, which were then a matter of much moment. This precaution did not add much to their prospects of safety, however, as will be seen from a brief recital of a few of their hardships and dangers. No particular difficulty was reached until they approached the valley of the Colorado river, in which vicinity, the party under Mr. Baley joined that of L. J. Rose, now one of the prominent men of California.

As the journey of the two parties was continued in company, we may be pardoned for here introducing the published account given by Mr. Rose of the experiences at this point, supplemented by our own narration from Mr. Baley's description. Mr. Rose says, in substance, that on reaching the summit of the mountain range bounding the valley of the Colorado, they saw the river, which seemed near at hand, but the mountain was so steep that they had to let their wagons down with ropes; and after reaching the valley or plain they began to suffer for want of water. The journey to the river consumed a whole day, and the sufferings of the party became so intense that some of them became insane from thirst. On finally reaching the river, the men unyoked the cattle and let them loose, and themselves rushed for the water, lying down in the river and drinking their fill, then, becoming stupefied, lay partly in the water and rested and slept. The heat was, so great that the suffering of the party was indescribable. The Mojave Indians came in upon them in a threatening manner, but they were reconciled for the time by presents of tobacco and trinkets. They killed cattle, however, without molestation and wasted the meat. The second day the Indians came into camp, but as they were not given everything they wanted they retired. On the third day they failed to make their appearance, and the guide warned the party that the absence of the Indians was an evil omen, whereupon they formed the wagons in a semicircle, with the river as their base in the rear, and prepared to defend themselves against the treacherous savages. They saw large numbers of Indians crossing the river from the other side, and the following day, about 1 o'clock, over 800 of them attacked the camp. This attack was one of the most savage and determined in the history of Indian warfare in the West, and waxed hot until night amid intense excitement and desperation of the Indians. The whites numbered sixty, of which Mr. Baley's party contributed seven men, including himself, and of this number nine were killed and seventeen wounded. The redskins suffered frightful loss, for, as they swarmed against the whites in solid mass, they were simply mowed down by well-directed volleys, and when the fight was finished eighty-seven of their dead, were counted on the scene of carnage, while their wounded, as well, probably, as some of the dead were carried away by their fellows. After, the Indians had been beaten off, there was much worry as to the best course for the sturdy band of emigrants to pursue; and it was on the advice, of Mr. Baley that the plan chosen was adopted, thus undoubtedly saving the lives of the party, who must ultimately have succumbed to the overwhelming numbers of their foes. So they turned back toward Albuquerque, New Mexico, and the journey was accompanied with much suffering, the men walking, half barefooted, their feet being lacerated with cactus thorns. At night they slept under their wagons on the sand as soundly as on feather beds, in their joy for having rig escaped being massacred.

At Albuquerque the emigrants lay up for some time. Mr. Baley and his immediate party remaining there for seven months, after which they again set out for California, which they reached this time, and without particularly noteworthy incident, although all such trips were necessarily attended with much of interest and many unusual experiences. Having reached Visalia, they stopped there long enough to rest themselves and brighten up their stock, after which they proceeded on to Millerton, then the seat of government of Fresno County, and there he located his family. As for himself, his time for the next four years was spent during the season at mining, principally on the San Joaquin and Fresno rivers. He was then elected Judge of Fresno County, and presided over the judicial affairs of the county at Millerton while the county seat remained there, and continued in the same position when it was removed to Fresno, until he had served twelve successive years in that capacity. It may be as well to mention here that Mr. Baley was not chosen to that position on account of any legal training, but, what wag much more to his credit, from the fact that the people of the county at that early day had learned to respect him as a man of whose nature fairness and honor was an inherent part, and they felt willing to entrust their litigation to his hands, knowing that their interests would receive earnest and honest consideration. How correctly this faith was, placed, and how well the Judge fulfilled his trust may be recognized, even by those not conversant with the fact, when it is stated as an historical fact that, during the dozen years of his incumbency of the Judgeship of Fresno County, not one single case of his was ever reversed on appeal. On his retirement from the bench, Judge Baley directed his attention to mercantile pursuits, embarking in the grocery trade, and for eight years was one of the prominent merchants of Fresno. During this period, however, he was again called for a time to public life, being elected Treasurer of Fresno County, which office he held for two years. In 1888 he retired from business cares, and at this writing, though having passed through a severe spell of sickness, he is and looks a much younger man than a consideration of his years alone would indicate. Now, enjoying the respect and esteem of all his fellow- citizens, he enjoys the freedom from the restraints of active business and official cares, though still a worker, surrounded by an industrious family, most of whose surviving members are residents of this county. Of the eleven children of the present marriage of Judge Baley, two are deceased, viz.: Elizabeth, who was the wife of the late J. Scott Ashman, who was for fourteen years Sheriff of this county; and Lewis Leach, who died in this city at the age of seventeen years. Those living are: Rebecca, now Mrs. M. Shannon, of Alameda; Catherine, now Mrs. Krug, whose husband is an architect and builder of Brazil, South America; Frances, now Mrs. Yancey, of this county; George; Helen G., now Mrs. McCardle, of Selma; Charles; Nancy J., now Mrs. Greenup; and Berthena, now Mrs. Judge S. H. Hill, both of Fresno.

In concluding this brief sketch of one of the noteworthy men of Fresno County, it is fitting in this connection to say that Judge Baley has been for sixty-three years a consistent member of the Methodist Church, and that he was the organizer of the congregation of the Methodist Church, South, of Fresno, which commenced with a membership of five, all but one of them from his own family, and which has progressed until now it has 240 members. He also built the church edifice.

The Judge is a life-long Democrat, and while he has never made himself offensive by bitterness toward those who differed with him politically, he can look back upon a long record of faithfulness to the principles and standard of the party of his birth and his choice.

History of Sonoma County: 1889 - Page 347

THOMAS B. MILLER.- Among the pioneer and representative farmers of Sonoma County is the subject of this sketch, a brief resume of whose life is herewith given. Mr. Miller was born December 31, 1826, in Rhea County Tennessee. His father, James P. Miller, was a native of Virginia, who went to Tennessee in his youth. His mother, Charlotte (Bell) Miller, was a native of Tennessee. In 1830 Mr. Miller's father moved to Alabama, and five years later to Arkansas. In 1840 he located in Newton County, Missouri, where he remained two years and returned to Benton County, Arkansas, where he resided until 1846, when he entered the United States military service as a Lieutenant in the Twelfth Regiment of the United States Infantry, and served with distinction throughout the Mexican war. Resigning his commission at the close of the war he returned to his family, and in 1849, acccompanied by his sons, Thomas B. and Gideon T. Miller, came overland to California and located at what was afterward known as Millerstown near Auburn. There he opened a general merchandise store, and later went to Washington on the Yuba River, where he continued his mercantile pursuits until 1850, when he returned East. The subject of this sketch upon his arrival at Sacramento, proceeded to the mines in Placer County, near Auburn. There he was engaged until the spring of 1850, when he went to Nevada City, Nevada County, California, making quite a strike and being very successful in his mining operations there. He went from there to the middle fork of the Yuba River and was engaged with thirteen others in digging a large ditch which turned the middle fork of the river from its bed. This enterprise was a failure as far as finding gold was concerned. Mr. Miller then went to Cache Creek in Yolo County, and spent the winter at that place in farm operations. Not being suited with the lcaation, in the fall of 1851 he came to Sonoma County and engaged in farming near what is now Sebastopol. In 1852 he went to Blucher Valley, about three miles south of Sebastopol, and there entered into farm operations. April 17, 1853, he was united in marriage with Miss Mary Ann King, daughter of James and Elizabeth (Horn)(Haun) King. Her parents were natives of Virginia, and resided in Missouri before they came to California in 1850. The subject of this sketch resided in Blucher Valley until 1853 and then moved to a farm near Tomales in Marin County. In 1855 he took up his residence upon 160 acres of land near Healdsburg, on the Russian River. He first bought the settler's claim to this land and afterward was compelled to purchase the claims of the grant-holders. There he engaged in farming and in stockraising on the coast until 1874. He then sold out, came to Santa Rosa, and purchased 320 acres of land on the river road, in the Hall school district, about five miles west of Santa Ros. Since that date Mr. Miller bar, devoted his attention to the cultivation and improvement of his farm, and now ranks among the leading and successful farmers of his section of the county. He has fifty-five acres devoted to hop cultivation, and two dry houses for curing the hops. These buildings are each 80 x 24 feet with 20 feet studding. The capacity of these dryers is four tons of green hops daily. He also has thirty acres of orchard, comprising twelve acres of French prunes, and twelve acres of peaches. The rest of the orchard is producing apples, pears, plums and cherries. He also has a family vineyard which produces both wine and, table grapes. The balance of his land is devoted to hay, grain and stock. Among the latter are some fine Norman horses, and cattle improved with Durham and Jersey stock. Mr. Miller is an active and public spirited citizen, deeply interested in all enterprises that tend to advance the interests of Sonoma County. In political matters he is Democratic, but is very liberal and conservative in his views. He is a consistent member of the Christian church. From the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Miller ten children are living, viz. - James P., born May 8, 1854, married Miss Birdie Brown, is living in Green Valley; Charlotte E., born February 24, 1857, married E. H. Parnell, residing in Colusa County; Thomas B., born January 6, 1859, living on Mark West Creek; Louisa H., born January 8, 1861, married S. W. Purrington, residing in Green Valley; Mary Alice, born December 19, 1862, married Alexander Ragle, living in Green Valley; Irene B., born November 1, 1864, married S. E. Ballard, residing in Shasta County; Josephine, born November 14, 1866; Laura E., born August 27, 1869; Henrietta, born October 27, 1871, and Robert L., born June 25, 1876, residing with their parents.

History of Santa Clara - 1922 - Page 718

GEORGE J. HAUN. - Among the interesting and highly-esteemed pioneers of Saratoga must be numbered George J. Haun, a native of this place, then named Toll Gate, where he was born May 5, 1855, a son of William and Levina (Whisman) Haun. William Haun settled in Santa Clara County as early as 1846 and was engaged in farming before settling at Toll Gate in 1853. Mr. Haun built the first and only flour, mill in Saratoga, afterwards the name was changed to McCartysville and still later to Saratoga, which he later disposed of to Senator McClay, and later engaged in the general grocery business. In the very early pioneer days he served as deputy sheriff of Santa Clara County. Both parents gave passed away.

George J. Haun received the best of educational instruction in the local schools and later at Washington College in Alameda County. After completing his schooling he engaged in teaming and was rural mail carrier for a number of years. He is now serving his second term as justice of the peace of Saratoga and for the past five years, has been engaged in the real estate and insurance business. He has also been postmaster of Saratoga for five years and carried over during the Wilson administration. As a Republican he has, sought to elevate civic life standards; he is particularly interested in the growth and prosperity of his local community and spares neither time nor means to aid its progress.

A Memorial and Biographical History of the Counties of Merced, Stanislaus, Calaveras, Tuolumne and Mariposa, California. Chicago: Lewis Publishing Co., pp. 360-361.

ROBERT T. WREN, a respected and enterprising citizen of Stanislaus county, is a native Californian, born at San Francisco September 29, 1850, his parents being William and Ellen Ware (Lang) Wren. His father, a native of England, was reared and married there, and came to the United States in 1849, proceeding to California by the ocean route. He went to Tuolumne county and mined at Matlow Gulch, and behind Bald mountain, between Sonora and Columbia. He followed mining for years, and lost his life during the flood of 1861-'62, by drowning in the Stanislaus river, while engaged in repairing a boat. His widow survives him and is a resident of Columbia.

Our subject, Robert T. Wren, was reared at Matlow Gulch, and was employed there working for others until 1871. He then came to Stanislaus county, where he was engaged mainly at farm work until 1883. He then located where he now lives and where he farms 320 acres. It is the Dan Longway place, afterward the property of the Booths, and later of George Greiersen.

Mr. Wren was married in Tuolumne county, September 30, 1879, to Miss Nellie Filbert [Philbrick], a native of Maine. They have three bright, intelligent children, viz.: Henry E., Walter L. and William. Politically, Mr. Wren is a Republican. He is a progressive man and one who takes an active interest in public affairs.

N.B. Robert's wife is actually Nellie Philbrick, daughter of Albina Philbrick (later Reynolds), as shown in 1880 census records in Stanislaus County. 1880 census records also show a daughter, Alice, born in August, 1879.

McMartin, John Page 1120 Biographical Record of the Sacramento Valley - 1906

John McMartin, An able farmer and a citizen of practical worth and ability. John McMartin is named among the representative citizens of Glenn county. He is native of Ontario, Canada. Born October 12, 1860. His father, Peter McMartin was also a native of the same place, where he engaged as a farmer until his death in 1902. His mother, Annie (Story) McMartin, was born in Canada, where she also died in 1873. John McMartin was the oldest in a family of five sons and two daughters, and after the completion of his education, which was received though an attendance of the common schools in the vicinity of his home, he engaged in farming with his father. In 1878 he came to the United States and located at once in California, in the vicinity of Willows, Glenn County, working out as a farm hand for two years. Following this he rented land on Funk slough, Colusa County, until 1890, when he rented three thousand acres of the Mills ranch in Glenn county. In 1895 he rented the Musick ranch four miles north of Fruto. Glenn county and devoted the fourteen hundred acres in the place to general ranching and the raising of stock. For five years he remained in that location, when he leased a part of the Clarks valley ranch, consisting of nine hundred acres, and in addition to this has a stock range of one thousand acres three miles west of Fruto. He as one hundred and fifty head of stock, on hundred acres of wheat, cultivation of barley and pasture, and a thirty-five acre orchard of peaches and apricots. In Colusa, Cal., Mr. McMartin was united in marriage with Martha Finch, who was born in Indiana and came to California with her parents. They have had four children, namely: Bertie, engaged in the butcher business at Elk Creek; Everet, with his brother at Elk Creek: Harold at home: and Myrtle, deceased. Fraternally Mr. McMartin is a member of Willows Lodge No. 245, F.&A.M. and of the Eastern Star and also belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Ancient Order of United Workman, both of Willows. Mrs. McMartin is a member of the Christian Church. Politically Mr. McMartin is active in the councils of the Republican party.

An illustrated history of Sonoma County, California. The Lewis Publishing Company, 1889. Page 482

John T. Peters, proprietor if the Mervyn Hotel at Glenn Ellen, came to California at the age of eleven years with his father, John Peters, who settled on 400 acres of land, a part of the "Blucher Ranch" west of Santa Rosa, in Two Rock Valley, late in the year 1853. John Peters was born in Washington County, Kentucky; was reared on a farm and followed the vocation of a farmer all through his life. He served under General Harrison in the war of 1812. His wife was formerly Miss Elizabeth Peters, who, though bearing the same name was not a relative. For a number of years, Mr. Peters made his home in Indiana, where several of his eldest children were born. Later he returned to Kentucky, remaining there until 1844, at which time he moved to Andrew County, Missouri, engaging in farming there until 1853. In the spring of that year, with his wife and six children, he joined and made a part of a splendidly equipped train consisting of twenty-one wagons and 1,000 head of stock, destined for California. Reaching Sonoma County, the Peters family spent their first night in camp upon the old "Sears Ranch," west of Sonoma, on the west bank of Sonoma Creek, in the month of November. From there he proceeded to his future home in Two Rock Valley, Analy Township. Long years of litigation followed his settlement before he was able to secure a perfect title to his property. Mr. Peters was bereaved by the death of his catimable wife not long after coming to this state, her death occurring in 1855, at the age of fifty-two years. She was the mother of fifteen, ten of whom lived to come to California with or before her, and who were all present at her burial, and who, with the exception of Silas, the eldest, who died at Selma, Fresno County, in August, 1888, are at this writing living. Their father lived to the age of seventy-two years. He was a man of sterling worth, possessed of much energy, and was highly esteemed and respected by all who knew him. Of his children, Merriman and Hartford live at Stockton; Jordan, in Del Norte County; Horace, in Santa Clara County; Samuel, in Washington Territory; John T., in Glen Ellen; Mrs. Margaret White, a widow, lives in Denver, Colorado; Elizabeth, wife of A. A. Walker, is a resident of the Washington Territory; Nancy, wife of George W. Cofer, resides in Salina County. John T. Peters, whose name heads this sketch, was born in Washington County, Kentucky, June 11, 1842. His childhood, from two to eleven years of age, was spent in Andrew County, Missouri. After the family settled in this county in 1853, he remained at home assisting the work of improving the large family homestead until he reached his twenty-first year. He then went to Virginia City and worked in a quartz mill until called home by his father's death which occurred a few months later. A year or so after the death of his father, he took charge of a force of Chinamen on the Central Pacific Railroad at Dutch Flat, camp 22. Returning to Sonoma County he spent nine years in steamboat traffic on San Francisco Bay, and in the employ of Pacific Coast Steamship Company in the San Diego and Oregon trade, and later was two years on the line between San Francisco and Stockton. In 1870 Mr. Peters entered the employ of Peter Donahue in the construction of the Sonoma Valley Railroad. He was in charge of the construction of the line between Sonoma and Glenn Ellen. Later he was a conductor on the finished road, and still later, assistant superintendent with headquarters at Sonoma. Resigning his position in February, 1885, he erected and opened Mervyn Hotel, a favorite resort at picturesque village of Glenn Ellen, where he yet dispenses hospitality to all who are so fortunate as to be able to become his guest. In 1872 Mr. Peters married Miss Nora O'Sullivan, at San Francisco. Mrs. Peters was born in Jersey City. She is the mother of seven children, of whom five are living; Mattie, Leland S., who died at the age of ten years; Nellie; James T., who died in infancy; Nora, John F., and William. Mr. Peters is a member of Temple Lodge, No. 14, F. & A. M., at Sonoma. In politics, since the election of Abraham Lincoln, he has been identified with the Republican party.

History of Solano County 1879 Page 442

HASTINGS, D. N., was born in Newton, Massachusetts, December 17, 1821, and at six years of age went to Brighton with his parents, where he remained five years, when he removed to Wollertown, Massachusetts, and resided there three years. At the age of fourteen he left home and went to Boston, where his time was 'spent in the provision business, the last seven years of which being hard work. On September 5, 1849, he left Boston for New York, and sailed thence on the bark "Florida" on September 12th. At that time it being impossible to obtain a through ticket to California, but could secure one to Chagres, Panama, where he remained four days, and continued his journey to Chagres, arriving in San Francisco December 1, 1849. On the Sunday following he was engaged in carpentering at $12 per diem, when, at the end of one week, he was put in charge of eight men at $20 per diem, and resigned that position on February 1, 1850. He then proceeded to Sullivan's creek, and turned his attention to mining, and worked for eight days, taking out $40, when he started for Stockton, a distance of fifty?six miles, when, after a week, he went to San Francisco, and was engaged to work in Fulton Market, on Washington street, remaining there until May 6th, when he was sent to Benicia, and opened a butcher shop, where he built himself a small market, 12x14 feet, which he occupied four months. A year afterwards he purchased a lot and carried on his business there until May, 1852, when he sold out, leased his property, and returned East to bring out his family. They sailed on the ship "Onward," via Cape Horn, and arrived in San Francisco December 11, 1852, going to Benicia the same day, there finding the Sheriff in possession of his property. It cost him $1,600 before he could recover it, after which he engaged again in the business of butcher, combining stock?raising with great success, till 1860, when he sold his business and retired, owning at the time three?fifths of 44,000 acres of land. He now possesses 3,000 acres. Mr. Hastings has never been a politician, although he held office under the city government of Benicia, and is at present one of the City Trustees.

The main house now occupied by Mr. Hastings was built by Dr. Woodbridge, from whom he purchased it in 1852, and has ?resided in it ever since. Mr. Hastings planted all the trees with his own hands. The property was originally owned by eleven men, it having been purchased in lots the ultimate size being 75x125 feet. The house at first was 20x30, with a kitchen 8x12 feet, made of dry?goods boxes, which was rebuilt and is now 34x36 feet, the size of the lot being 270x450 feet. There are over seven hundred trees in the enclosure. Water is brought from a piece of land owned by Mr. Hastings over 9,000 feet to the house. The Seminary is also supplied in the same way. Mr. Hastings has five children: George A., born in Boston, Mass., December 8, 1846 ; William F., born in Boston, August 25, 1848 ; Hannah M., born in Benicia, March 8 1857 ; Alice (twin), born September 5, 1862 ; Eben J. (twin), born September 5, 1862.

History of Solano County 1879 Page 443

HOYT, JOSEPH, born in Belknap county, N. H., November 14, 1830. Here he received his education, and when sixteen years old went to Essex county, Mass., where he learned the stone?cutter's trade, afterwards going to Virginia, following this occupation, but returned to his native home, and in 1853 came by the way of Nicaragua to California, arriving in San Francisco in December of that year. Here he resided until the spring of 1854, when he went to the mines, but settled in Benicia in July following. February, 1855 went to Mare Island, working for the Government, but in 185 7 moved to Salt Point, Mendocino county, Cal., where he had the contract of cutting the stone which was to build the north battery at Alcatraz Island, San Francisco bay. Returned to Mare Island that year, removing to Contra Costa county in 1859, engaging in the stock trade Again in 1862 we find him in Benicia, where he has since made it his home. Was elected to the office of County Assessor in 1871, since which time he has been agent for S. C. Hastings. Married Ellen A. Haggarty at Vallejo, in 1855. They have Nellie J., Olivia R., Andrew J., Joe H. Orville L., Charles H., Walter D., and Maggie F.

History of Solano County 1879 Page 443

KINSTREY, THOS. T., was born in New York City, August 30, 1819, where he resided till 1852, when, on March 19th, he sailed for California in the ship "Pioneer." After being wrecked, he arrived in San Francisco September, 1852 ; thence coming to Benicia, and began business as boilermaker for the Pacific Mail Steamship Company. In 1864 he commenced his present business, which he has since continued. Mr. B. married Laura Valentine, in 1854, by whom he has a family.

History of San Joaquin County by Tinkham 1923

DUDLEY I. WALTZ.-- The great cattle-barons of California have always occupied an heroic position in the intensely interesting history of the Golden State, exponents of that courage, foresight, optimism and progressive enterprise which have marked the leaders of the Pacific commonwealth as among the most progressive of all highly successful Americans; and it is natural, therefore, that such men of large affairs as Dudley I Waltz, the stockman, should be accorded an enviable eminence among men of wide influence, and should preeminently enjoy the esteem and confidence of their fellows. Mr. Waltz was born in Monroe County, Mo., May 3, 1861, first seeing the light on a comfortable home farm; but in 1877, when only sixteen years of age, he came out to California, in company with a boy friend. His first employment was on a farm at Wheatland, where he pitched hay for $1.25 per day, and after working as a farm hand for some three years, he bought 320 acres of land in Sutter County which he farmed to wheat and barley. At the end of two years, he sold this ranch at a profit, and he then bought 800 acres of land in Placer County, which he farmed for another two years, and then sold at a profit. He next bought a small band of sheep, this being his start in handling sheep and cattle, and from that time on he has steadily advanced, until now he is one of the largest sheep-owners in California, having about 30,000 head.

In 1896, he bought of General Bidwell, of Chino, some 7,000 head of sheep, and leased all of Bidwell's pasture land up to the time of his death. The same year he bought 10,000 sheep from the Joe Cone estate at Red Bluff. In 1898, he bought from Tom Haw, a Chinaman, some 10,000 head, at Dillon, Mont., and the next year he opened a butcher shop on Second Street, Chino, which he operated for a couple of years. In 1900 he bought a train load of cattle in Old Mexico; and this was the first load of cattle that crossed the quarantine line into the state. They were unloaded at Bakersfield, where they were disinfected and examined by a state veterinary. For two years he conducted a ranch in Merced County, removing to Stockton in 1902. Now thousands of his sheep and cattle range on a thousand hills in California, and his holdings include the Stanford Ranch of 9000 acres in Tehama and Butte counties, once part of the famous Leland Stanford estate, known as the Vina ranch. He also owns 9000 acres of land in Merced County,and leases 20,000 more in Mariposa and Merced counties; and he leases 50,000 acres of land in Butte and Tehama counties, directing the whole with the assistance of his two sons, Edward P. and Arthur W. Waltz, who are associated with him in his livestock e nterprises. Mr. Waltz is a member of the advisory board of the Imperial Cattle Loan Company of Los Angeles, and he is ex-president of the San Joaquin County Cattle Men's Association. He helped to organize, and is the president of the Central California Wool Growers' Association, and is also director of the State Wool Growers Association; and in 1911, he helped to organize the California State Life Insurance Company of Sacramento, and is official appraiser and director of the same, and in 1922 was elected its vice-president. This company has been very successful, and has made the best showing of any company in the United States in the past ten years.

When Mr. Waltz married September 2, 1889, at Auburn, Cal., he chose for his bride Miss Martha H. Brock, a native of Sutter County; and their union has been blessed with the birth of five children: Edward P., who married Miss Dorothy Boone of Red Bluff, is associated with our subject and his brother, Arthur B., in the sheep and cattle business, under the firm name of D. I. Waltz & Sons with principal offices at Stockton; Arthur B. was in the Aviation service and put in eighteen months overseas; Dorothy is the wife of Ralph Jeanelle of Stockton, and Minnie and Grace are the youngest in the family. San Joaquin County is justly proud of such an eminently progressive captain of industry as Mr. Waltz, one of the greatest patrons of husbandry in the Golden State.

History and Biography of Pomona Valley by A. L. Hickson page 381-383

Mrs. Elizabeth Lamb An extensive land owner, well endowed with this worlds goods and highly respected and loved for her many beautiful and sterling traits of character is Mrs. Elizabeth Lamb, widow of the late William D. Lamb, prominent pioneer citizen of Southern California. Her life has indeed been rich in varied experiences in that sort of interest and adventure that was the accompaniment of pioneer days, nor has it been unmixed with hardships, some of them being almost unbelievable.

Mrs. Lamb is a native of England, her birthplace being at Billings, Lancashire, June 24, 1850. Her parents were John R. and Sarah (Jolley) Holt, also of English birth. The father was a wheelwright and joiner and he followed this line of work for a number of years in his native land. They were the parents of nine children, and when Elizabeth was thirteen years of age she came to America with two sisters and a brother. They sailed from Liverpool in May, 1863, and even then Elizabeth's adventurous experiences began. After seven weeks of storm and calm they finally landed at Castle Garden, New York, coming across on the old condemned sailer "Antarctic" which was sunk on the return voyage. Their destination was Utah, and they made their way across the country as far as Omaha by train, thence to Salt Lake City by ox team, arriving there six months after their departure from Liverpool. Here they located, and later Elizabeth made the acquaintance of William D. Lamb, to whom she was married on October 12, 1868. Mr. Lamb was then only nineteen years of age, but his life had been filled with arduous experience, even at that time. Born in Onondaga County, N. Y., he was left motherless at the age of four, and lived for a time with an uncle near Grand Rapids, Mich. When he was eleven years old he set out to make his way alone, working his way through to Omaha on railroad grading work. When he was about fourteen years old his father came up from the South and the two crossed the plains in a Mormon freight train. At that time he had not even learned to read, for his life had been so full of toil that there had been no time for schooling, but after reaching Salt Lake City he managed, even in the midst of many duties, to learn the alphabet and acquire the rudiments of an education.

After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Lamb remained in Salt Lake City for a time, and there their eldest daughter, Mary, now Mrs. E. J. Levengood, was born. Then they decided to locate in California, and when they arrived here Mr. Lamb earned a living by chopping and hauling wood on what was later the Lucky Baldwin ranch, Mrs. Lamb and her little one making their home in their covered wagon. They then moved on to El Monte, and tried farming there, but there was a long season of drought and all their corn and other produce was dried up. Their next move was to Azusa, where they lived in the canyon, afterwards named Lamb's Canyon for Mr. Lamb. Here two of their children were born, but they lost both of them and they were buried there. Mr. Lamb next bought a squatter's claim of 160 acres four miles from Huntington Beach, but in 1879, after they had lived there four years, litigation arose and he and other claimants to adjoining tracts were dispossessed, the Los Bolsas Company winning the suit. His next purchase was forty acres of the Stearns ranch at Newhope; here they settled, made many improvements and prospered. They subsequently added to their acreage, and Mrs. Lamb still owns the old home of 120 acres there. The next purchase was 220 acres at Garden Grove and, in 1892, he closed the deal for 720 acres of the Los Bolsas ranch at a very reasonable price, and here Mrs. Lamb now makes her home. At first they only ran cattle on these lands, but they have now been brought up to a high state of cultivation. They were always among the most progressive farmers of the community, as their place was always equipped with the latest inventions in farm machinery that could be obtained, and the example of their enterprise meant much for the progress and welfare of their neighborhood.

For several years Mr. Lamb was the resident manager of the Los Bolsas Land Company and other large ranches, and through his work much improvement was made on the tracts under his charge. He early saw the necessity for drainage and irrigation, and with several associates purchased a dredger, the first of its kind in this territory, and thus completely revolutionized the early methods of carrying on this work. In no instance, perhaps, is his perseverance and progressive spirit more plainly shown than in the fact that after he had embarked in business for himself he employed a man to keep his books and paid him an extra salary for his personal instruction in reading, arithmetic and the general principles of business, this arrangement continuing for three years; after that he was able to superintend every detail of his extensive business interests for himself and with marked success. Mr. Lamb passed away in March, 1911, and is buried at Santa Ana. Like her husband, Mrs. Lamb had only the most limited opportunities to secure an education, but this was fully made up through the practical business experience and "hard knocks" of pioneer days. She has always been a woman of great business and executive ability, and ever shared with her husband the burdens and responsibilities of their great undertakings, and much of his success was due to her splendid judgment and management.

Mr. and Mrs. Lamb were the parents of nine children, five of whom are living: Mary, now Mrs. Edward J. Levengood of Pomona, was first married to William Hamner, by whom she had two children, Jessie M. and Anson; Wm. Anson and Vina died in childhood; Arthur, now deceased, married Mary Stephens and had one son, Leo Ford Lamb, who resides in Los Angeles; Walter D., a rancher near Santa Ana, married Gertrude DuBois, a daughter of Valentine DuBois of Santa Ana, and they have two children; Laura is the wife of Gregory Harper, and they have two children, Ivan H. and Harold L.; Hugo J., a rancher near Huntington Beach, married Effie Stockton, and two children have been born to them, Lois and Alice; Earl A., is also engaged in ranching near Huntington Beach; he married Etta Bradley, and they are the parents of three children, Rachel E., Wm. G. and Alvan; Robert died at the age of four months.

Mrs. Lamb still makes her home on her 720-acre ranch southeast of Huntington beach, her son-in-law and daughter, Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Harper, living with her, and she is active and interested in the management of her properties and extensive business interests. A woman of great force of character, withal kind and considerate, she is greatly beloved by her family and a large circle of friends. A true type of the pioneer woman, her life is a record of accomplishment and good deeds that will leave their beneficent influence on the generations to come.

History of Santa Barbara County, State of California 1939 by O. H. O'Neill page 360-1

Cyril Gordon Lamb

The Solvang community suffered a severe loss in personnel when, on Dec. 7, 1936, Cyril G. Lamb passed away, after a long and active career as a rancher. He was successful not alone in material affairs, but also in holding the respect and confidence of his fellowmen, so that his loss was deeply felt throughout that section of Santa Barbara County.

Mr. Lamb was born in Cambridge, England, on Sept. 27, 1869, the son of the Rev. John and Marian (Borton) Lamb. His father was a minister of the Protestant Episcopal church, and was also burser and master in Cambridge University. He served also as minister of a church in the neighborhood of Norwich, in connection with his work in the college. Cyril G. Lamb came to the United States in 1887, at the age of 18 years, and located in Carpinteria Calif., as a pupil farmer. Sometime later he bought 40 acres of land in the Santa Ynez Valley, near where his widow now resides. There he spent the remaining years of his life where his death occurred. During the active years of his career, he devoted his efforts to his chosen calling, in which he showed himself a man of excellent judgment and indefatigable energy, so that at the time of his death he was the owner of 640 acres of excellent land. For several years the ranch was operated as a dairy and hog ranch, but later Mr. Lamb turned his attention to the raising of sheep in which he was highly successful and in which his widow maintains her interest.

Mr. Lamb was a man of trained mind, having received his education in Rugby School and Cambridge University in his native land, and during all the active years of his life, he maintained a keen interest in things worth while, being regarded as a man of sound judgment in practical matters.

At Saint Ynez, on Oct. 10, 1896, Mr. Lamb was united in marriage to Miss Janet Agnes Watson, who was born in Rockford, Ill., Aug. 26, 1869, a daughter of James and Marian (Andrews) Watson. Both of her parents were natives of Scotland, and on coming to this country located in Illinois, where the father followed farming pursuits for many years. Eventually, they moved to Iowa, where their deaths occurred. Mrs. Lamb has been for many years affiliated with the Presbyterian church. In matters political, Mr. Lamb gave his support to the Republican party. He was a member of the Farm Bureau, was identified with the Santa Barbara Club for many years and at one time was affiliated with the Chamber of Commerce in Santa Barbara. His hobbies were livestock and gardening, in which he was successful. Mrs. Lamb is a member of the Little Town Club of Santa Barbara. She retains her residence on the home ranch, to the operation of which she gives close attention.

She is a lady of splendid qualifications, in both business and social affairs, and throughout the community where she has resided for over four decades, she commands the highest measure of respect. Mr. Lamb was not only a capable and successful farmer, but he never failed to recognize and live up to his obligations and privileges as a citizen. He was worthy of the high place which he held in the esteem of those who knew him and his loss has been deeply felt throughout the community.

History of Sacramento County [California] 1923 by G. Walter Reed page 891

Arthur H. Lamb. -- A distinguished architect who has won a permanent place in the esteem of the Sacramento people, is Arthur H. Lamb, of the well known aggressively progressive firm of Woollett & Lamb, of the Mull building, Tenth and L Streets, Sacramento. He was born in New York City on February 5, 1883, the son of Hugh and Elizabeth B. (Chamberlain) Lamb, well-situated New Yorkers, the family being long at home in Manhattan, and he grew up in a refined circle. Hugh Lamb has passed on to the great Beyond, but Mrs. Lamb continued the center of affection from many friends until November 15, 1922, when she passed away, at her home at Mont Clair, New Jersey.

Arthur H. Lamb attended both the grammar and the high schools of the metropolis, and since his father was an architect, it was natural enough that he should follow in that gentleman's footsteps. After taking a special course in art, thereafter, Arthur entered his father's office, and in the year of the great fire and earthquake at San Francisco, he came out to the stricken bay city, where he remained for five years, when he went south to Los Angeles and put in another five years. In 1917 Mr. Lamb came to Sacramento, and at once became a member of the firm of Woollett & Lamb, taking for his partner John W. Woollett. Together the two gifted men designed many of the finest structures hereabouts, the Physicians building being among the number. Mr. Lamb was married in 1918 to Miss Phyllis Kent of Piedmont. In national political affairs Mr. Lamb prefers the standards of the Republican party, but in local matters he is non-partisan.

History of San Joaquin County [California] by Tinkham 1923 page 368

Hon. Charles Lamb. -- A resident of California from his earliest recollections, the late Charles Lamb was a typical and thorough Californian in his taste, although he spent considerable time in other localities, where he passed through many interesting experiences as a cowboy and later a mining prospector. Mr. Lamb was born at Charleston, Lee County, Iowa, on January 18, 1859, and when he was nine months old his parents, James and Sarah Lamb, crossed the plains to California, first locating in Amador County, but later settling in the northern part of San Joaquin County. Here Charles Lamb was reared on the home ranch, attending the country schools, and remaining there until he was twenty-one, when he started out to see something of the world.

Going to Mason Valley, Nev., Mr. Lamb did not remain there long, but continued on to Eastern Oregon, where for a year he rode the range, an experience that proved of untold value in later years, giving him a rugged constitution which enabled him to withstand exposure and hardship. From Oregon Mr. Lamb returned to California, and for fourteen years engaged in ranching and stockraising in Tulare County, going to Los Angeles in 1894, where for two years he was in the employ of the Los Angeles Street Railway. Leaving there, he made the long journey to Alaska, reaching the Yukon district in June, 1896, before the discovery of gold made that locality famous. He took up a number of mining claims, which yielded large returns, the most productive being the Number 8 El Dorado Creek mine. His experiences in the rugged North would have made an interesting volume could they have been written, so primitive were the conditions at that time. There were no steamboats on the upper Yukon and he and his companions were obliged to pack their supplies across the mountains to the river, where they constructed boats in which they navigated the lake and descended the river. Hardships and privations met them on every hand, but thanks to his sturdy physique, Mr. Lamb was able to come through them all safely. He later returned to Stockton, but made frequent trips to Alaska, looking after his mining interests there, meanwhile becoming more and more interested in farming in San Joaquin County, in which he made an outstanding success. He owned considerable ranch land in the county, and on his ranch at Newhope, now called Thornton, he was extensively engaged in raising grain and beans and was attended with very good success. At Visalia on December 16, 1887, Mr. Lamb was married to Miss Belle Norcross, a native of the typical old New England town of Farmington, Maine, and one daughter blessed their union, Edna, the wife of Amerigo E. Gianelli, and they have a son, Edward. After his initial trip to Alaska, Mr. Lamb was accompanied by his wife on his subsequent trips, with the exception of one year. As the country improved and became less rough and crude, she enjoyed the experience of the trips, having made both the outside and inside passages to the frozen North. In 1897 and 1900 they were accompanied by their daughter.

Mr. Lamb was a stanch Republican, active in the affairs of his party and a member of the assembly of the California State Legislature from Stockton in the thirty-fourth session, 1919, and while there served on important committees, taking a leading part in progressive legislation. During his mining career, Mr. Lamb with his family passed their winters in San Francisco, where he had many warm friends among the business and professional men, being almost as well known there as in Stockton. After 1912 they made their home in Stockton and here on January 6, 1920, Mr. Lamb passed away, while still a member of the assembly. He was a very popular member of Stockton Lodge No. 218, P. B. O. E. A self-made man in every sense of the term, Mr. Lamb left behind him an honored record in all of his affairs in which he had met with an unusual degree of success.

History of San Joaquin County [California] by Tinkham 1923 page 891

Warren Lamb

Warren Lamb. -- Among the more recent business organizations of Tracy, San Joaquin County, is the Orange Crush Bottling Company, incorporated at $75,000. The main office of the company is at Sixth and B streets, Tracy, and there are branch offices with bottling works in Stockton and Turlock, Cal. The proprietor, Warren Lamb, was born at Charleston, Lee County, Iowa, on March 28, 1857, a son of James and Sarah (Sloars) Lamb, both natives of Richmond, Ind. His father, James Lamb, came to California in 1849, but returned to New York via Panama and thence to Indiana, where he was married. The young people then removed to Iowa in 1856 and engaged in farming and stockraising, and in 1860, with a party of fifteen oz-teams started across the plains; after six months they arrived in Clements, Jackson Valley, Calaveras County, Cal. The company experienced many hardships and adventures, but had no trouble with the Indians. Securing land they began to farm, but in 1862 a disastrous flood almost ruined the settlers of Jackson Valley. In 1863 Mrs. Sarah Lamb passed away and the family was broken up until in 1866, when his father married again and their home was once more established; also their property was reclaimed, and ten years were spent in Jackson Valley, where Warren learned to do farm work, and remained at home until 1880.

Mr. Lamb's marriage united him with Miss Hattie E. Minser, a native of Indiana, but who came West with her parents in 1860. They are the parents of four children, as follows: James N. born in Calaveras County in 1886, married Miss Pearl Gieseke, and they have one son. They reside on Seventh Street, Tracy, and he is a prominent member in the Knights of Pythias, Native Sons of the Golden West, and treasurer of the Foresters of America. He has held a number of public offices in Tracy, and is now the vice-president and general manager of the Orange Crush Bottling Company. Ida M. is the wife of John W. Shaw and they have one son and reside in Tracy; Ethel E. is the wife of A. C. Shaw and they have one daughter and reside in Stockton; W. Ray Lamb is married and has one son and they reside in Stockton; he is a stockholder in the Orange Crush Bottling Company and is manager of the Stockton branch of the company.

Mr. Lamb farmed in the Elliott district of San Joaquin County, and in 1890 removed to Valley Springs where he established a livery and hotel business, which he conducted successfully for ten years. In 1900 he made a trip to Alaska and the following year removed his family to St. Michaels, and the following three years were spent in prospecting and mining, with some success, but on account of health conditions in 1903 he returned to California and settled Livermore, Alameda County. Here he established a small business for the manufacture of soda water and in 1914 the business had so increased that a branch store was established in Tracy, with James N. Lamb, his son, in charge, known as Lamb & Sons, dealers in soda water, ice, fuel and feed. As representatives of the National Ice Company they do a fine business in the summer with ice and soda. This company owns the exclusive right to bottle and distribute Ward's Orange Crush and Lemon Crush soda drinks in the following four counties: San Joaquin, Contra Costa, Stanislaus and Merced. The plant at Tracy is equipped with up-to-date machinery and has a capacity of turning out 800 dozen bottles per day. At Turlock the company is constructing a fine hollow tile building with complete modern equipment. More than 500 cases of soda water will be produced daily by the company, and it will be one of the largest and best equipped bottling companies in the valley.

The Lamb family have always been strong advocates of irrigation and have been useful factors in the development of the locality in which they reside. Mr. Lamb owns a thirty-acre alfalfa ranch in the West Side Irrigation District, and is a stockholder and director in the Pioneer Bank of Tracy. He serves as a member of the Republican County Central Committee and was one year a delegate to the state convention. For over forty years Mr. Lamb has been an active member of Odd Fellow's Lodge No. 219, and is past grand of same; is a member of the Rebekah lodge and has passed all the chairs and was a delegate to the grand lodge. He is a past officer of the Foresters of America, and past president of the Chamber of Commerce of Tracy.

History of San Joaquin County [California] by Tinkham 1923 page 1147

William W. Lamb

William W. Lamb. -- A successful Delta farmer, the owner and proprietor of 350 acres on Lower Union Island, is William W. Lamb, who has brought his ranch to a high state of cultivation. Bone in San Joaquin County, near Mohr's Landing, January 20, 1872, he is the eldest son of L. D. and Ella (McCraney) Lamb, natives of Missouri and Nevada, respectively. The father, L. D. Lamb, crossed the plains to California with ox-teams and settled in San Joaquin County at an early day, while the mother came to California at eleven years of age and grew up and married in San Joaquin County. Two sons were born to them: William W., of this sketch, and Frank M. The family home was first located neat Banta, where they remained until 1879, when they removed to Union Island. The father became a well-known farmer and stockman, as well as a public-spirited citizen. He passed away when in his sixty-sixth year. The mother now makes her home at 741 North Hunter Street, Stockton.

William Lamb attended the Banta school, and early in life received practical lessons in agriculture. In 1908, in partnership with his brother, he began farming near Clifton Court, where they raised large quantities of barley, the partnership continued until 1919. Mr. Lamb continued to raise barley on an extensive scale, and during the past eight years has also been a successful grower of pink beans.

Mr. Lamb was married in Portland, Ore., to Miss Minnie Snoderly, a native of Oregon, a daughter of George S. Snoderly, who was a mining engineer. Both her parents are now deceased. Two daughters have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Lamb: Georgia is a student in Stockton high school, and Ella is in grammar school. In 1919 a residence was purchased at 503 West Acacia Street, Stockton, where the family make their home.

The Bay of San Francisco; Its Cities and their Suburbs 1892 page 674-5

Edgar A. Walz Edgar A. Walz, Pacific Coast Manager of the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States. -- The subject of this sketch having made his wonderful record as an assurance man since locating in this State, and his business being one of the most important of those embraced in this volume, together with the fact that he is sole manager of one of the largest and most prominent of the equitable agencies in the United States, his life becomes one of general interest.

Edgar Alfred Walz was born at Owatonna, Steele county, Minnesota, March 3, 1859, his parents being Gregory and Lena Walz. The family soon removed to Mankato, Minnesota, where they lived until he had received his education and was ready to leave his parental roof in search of fortune. Like many an other lad he tried several occupations before finding the most congenial and in which he has won the favor of the fickle goddess. He had been a bookkeeper, cashier and telegrapher, but found these occupations afforded no future for an ambitious youth; so when, at the age of eighteen, he was offered an important position in New Mexico, he at once accepted it. He occupied this position for six years, and the history of his life would furnish material for hundreds of thrilling tales of adventure. It was during this time that the notorious county war broke out in Lincoln county, New Mexico, continuing three years, and in which hundreds of men were killed; and Victorio, the Apache Indian chief and his band also laid murderous hands upon the county, slaughtering its inhabitants and destroying their property. The gentleman of whom Mr. Walz was at this time the agent and representative, had large interests at stake which were in constant jeopardy, and on account of the county war it required all his diplomacy to keep ranches, cattle, stores and stock from being confiscated.

Before he was old enough to vote he had had in his employ and under his sole direction, hundreds of men; and as good fighters were, in those troublesome times, the most valuable employees, it is not surprising that we find enrolled upon his list "Billy the Kid" (a notorious outlaw), and others of the same sort. There are probably but few with the exception of pioneers, early settlers and the oldest inhabitants, who have had a more varied experience with outlaws, Indians and border warfare, or more frequently escaped by a hair's breadth from the scalper's blade or the ambush shot, than the youthful overseer. In 1883 Mr. Walz brought his management to a successful close by selling to an English capitalist for $175,000 the interests in Lincoln county he had so ably and zealously guarded; and it is proper to add that for these services he received $25,000, a most gratifying result, to a young man of twenty-four, of his individual effort. During the entire period of his occupancy of this responsible and hazardous position, he was left wholly dependent upon his own resources, as the gentleman whose interests he had in hand never visited the county. In 1880, to celebrate his majority and prove his good sense and excellent judgment, Mr. Walz married Miss Luella Shaubut, daughter of Henry and Hannah Shaubut of Mankato, Minnesota, where for thirty years Mr. Shaubut was engaged in the banking business. Mr. Walz's family now consists of wife and three boys -- T. Corry, Chester S. and Edward, Jr. He is very domestic and delights in his home and family, and no happier group can be found than that at No. 1388 Harrison street, Oakland, where Mr. Walz resides.

After closing up the New Mexico interests in 1883 Mr. Walz and family traveled for two or more years. Meanwhile he invested in cattle ranches; and various other business propositions occupied his attention until 1887, when under the influence of California climate, in October, he removed his family to San Diego, California, and with his usual energy and enterprise immediately began to look about him for some opportunity affording full scope for his business acumen, his capabilities as an organizer and his faculty for dealing with men. He was readily convinced that life assurance was the field upon which he desired to a finish the battle for fortune and fame, and in which he meant to win. Consequently, anxious ever to identify himself only with those occupying positions of merited honor and trust in the business world, after careful and thorough investigation, he selected what he believed to be the best life company in the world, and enrolled himself under the banner of the Equitable Life Assurance Society of New York, the safest, strongest and most popular of all the large life companies. His progress in this field has been most remarkable. He began at the first round of the ladder as a solicitor. In February, 1888, he was local agent in San Diego city, six months later general agent of San Diego county, a year later, assistant manager of the Pacific coast department, and two years later, in August, 1891, when President Hyde visited the coast, he made Mr. Walz sole manager of all the Pacific coast territory, embracing California, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Nevada and the Hawaiian Islands, and constituting one of the most important of the United States agencies. Such a rapid rise in any business is phenomenal, and in this case it is no doubt due in a measure at least, to Mr. Walz's success as a personal solicitor. Through all his promotions and with the increasing responsibilities of the management, Mr. Walz still keeps up his record for personal business. There are probably few who receive larger returns from their efforts in this line than does Mr. Walz, and one reason for this is that all with whom he does business are always ready to endorse and recommend him to their friends and business associates, so that he occupies a most desirable position and enviable reputation in commercial circles. He is a member of the Pacific Union Club of San Francisco, of the Athenian Club of Oakland and of the Saint Claire Club of San Jose.

History of the New California page 412

Colonel George W. Walts.

Colonel George Washington Walts, commandant of the Veterans' Home at Yountville, is himself one of the honored old veterans of the great rebellion and has had a most successful business career during the thirty odd years that he has been identified with California and the Pacific coast. He has been honored with a number of positions of varied responsibilities and duties, and since the days of his early manhood when he offered his services to his country he has always been found loyal to trusts of whatever nature reposed in him and to country, city and home.

Colonel Walts was born in Ohio, February 21, 1840, being a son of Jacob and Isabinda (Drake) Walts. His father was a native of Maryland and followed the occupation of farmer, and his mother was born in Virginia.

From teaching in the public schools of Vinton county, Ohio, where he was reared, young Walts at the age of twenty-one entered the Eighteenth Ohio Infantry for three months' service, and upon the regiment's reorganization he re-enlisted for three years, and was appointed principal musician with the pay of lieutenant. He had charge of the regimental band from the time of his first enlistment until regimental bands were abolished. When the band was mustered out of service he volunteered in the same regiment and was made sergeant major, in which capacity he remained in the army until failing health compelled his retirement, after which he was a special agent of the quartermaster's department until the close of the war. His last field service was during the siege, and at the battle of Nashville, Tennessee, where he served as major of the Sixth Regiment in General Donaldson's division.

After the war he engaged in the wholesale merchandise business at Louisville, Kentucky, until 1872, but failing health again required a change of plans, and he disposed of his enterprises in the east and came out to California. His first venture here was the reclamation of the tide lands of the state. After two years of hard work he had succeeded in getting a splendid crop of grain well started on about two thousand acres of this reclaimed land, but in June, before harvesting commenced, the flood destroyed it all, sweeping away levees as well as crops. He next turned his attention to railroading, being employed by the Southern Pacific Railroad until 1883. In that year he entered the service of the Union Pacific as general freight agent of the Pacific coast with office at 1 Montgomery street, San Francisco. Four years later he was chosen arbitrator for the various roads centering at San Francisco, and continued in that office till it was legislated out of existence. In 1891 he was appointed state labor commissioner, which office he held for four years. He had been connected with the Veteran's Home at Yountville as director and treasurer since 1884, and in 1896 he entered upon his present office of commandant of the Home. He is a man of broad and generous mind, and his fine executive ability has well fitted him for the positions he has held during his career, and makes him especially suitable as the incumbent of his present important office. He is a member of the George H. Thomas Post of the Grand Army of the Republic, and was its commander in 1885.

History of Fresno County [California] 1919 by Vandor page 1607-8

Sylvester W. Waltz. -- A successful, highly respected farmer and viticulturist, who has a fine ranch property and knows how to take good care of it, is S. W. Waltz, who came to Fresno County in the great boom year of 1887. Thirty years before, on February 20, he was born at Vevay, Switzerland County, Ind., the son of Joseph Waltz, a native of Pennsylvania, who settled in Indiana and grew to be one of the prosperous farmers there. He married Burry A. Courtney, a daughter of the Hoosier State, a woman of character and amiability, who became the mother of ten children, seven of whom are still living. Joseph Waltz died in 1885, and Mrs. Waltz died later.

The youngest in the family, and the only one in California, S. W. Waltz was brought up on a farm and attended the public school. When he was twelve years of age he began to do farm work in earnest, driving the teams and helping get in the harvest; and after the death of his father he continued to work on the home farm and to assist his mother, until she died. Before coming to California, Mr. Waltz was married in Indiana to Miss Australia Chittenden, a native of that state, who had relatives here. On his arrival he went to work in the vineyards, and in 1891 he bought his present place of twenty acres in the Scandinavian Colony, six miles northeast of Fresno, which he improved in many ways. He built a residence and barn, set out a fine vineyard of Malaga, Thompson, Sultana and wine grapes, and planted some of the land to alfalfa. The ranch is under the Gould Ditch, and profits from almost perfect irrigation. Mr. Waltz takes a keen interest in all that pertains to his departments of agriculture, and is one of the livest members of the California Associated Raisin Company. In February, 1892, Mr. Waltz' wife breathed her last. Later , Mr. Waltz married a second time, his bride on this occasion being Mrs. Nellie (Hender) Trevathan, a native daughter born near Solbyville, Merced County. By her Mr. Waltz has had two children -- Harry Roy and Dorris. By her first marriage Mrs. Waltz had one child, Clifford Trevathan, who resides near Kerman. Mr. Waltz belongs to Fresno Lodge, No. 186, I. O. O. F. He is also a member and past Chief Patriarch of the Encampment and belongs to the Canton; and both Mr. and Mrs. Waltz are members of the Rebekahs.

Public-spirited and ever interested in all that makes for the improvement of the neighborhood, and particularly for the advancement of the cause of education, Mr. Waltz has for three years served as a school trustee of the Scandinavian district. In national politics he is a Republican, but in local administration and civic improvements he knows no party lines and endorses and supports the right man for the right place.

History of Lake County, Valley Publishers, 1759, Fulton Street, Fresno, CA 93721, 1974. Reprinted from History of Napa and Lake Counties, CA, Slocum, Bowen and Company, San Francisco, 1881. Historian of this book was Lyman L. Palmer.

This is a Biographical Sketch, p. 227 of COBB, JOHN.

Was born in Henry County, Kentucky, May 19, 1814. His father was a farmer. When John was but a child, his father moved to Indiana where they remained for six years, when they returned to Kentucky. When John was sixteen years of age, they returned to Indiana and his father resided in Jefferson County for five years, and then moved to Arkansas, where he died. In 1832, John went to Vigo County, Indiana, on the Wabash River, where he followed keel-boating, carrying freight to all the towns on the river. In October, on one of his trips, he laid up for the night at the foot of Coffee Island, eight miles below the Grand Rapids and two miles below Mount Carmel. About eight o'clock, he noticed quite a commotion taking place with the stars; they all seemed to be falling towards the earth; they seemed to increase thicker and faster until about midnight, when all of them seemed to part in the center above, falling towards the earth in all directions. They resembled many balls of fire, each leaving a brilliant light behind it; one would not get out of sight til another would be coming on the same line. The whole firmament seemed to be in a blaze of fire; it was the most beautiful sight he ever saw in his life. The stars seemed to gradually decrease in motion until about four o'clock in the morning, when all was quiet and every star was in its proper place.

He then proceeded down the rive into the Ohio, and down that stream to Paducah, at the mouth of the Tennessee River; he then went up the Tennessee with the keel-boat to Florence, in Tennessee; then he returned to Indiana - to the Grand Rapids, on the Wabash River. There he put in a crop of corn, sold it out, and went to Lafayette, Tippecanoe County, Indiana, wheere he got a team and went back to Madison, in Jefferson County, after his mother, two sisters and brother and moved to Iowa Territory. They stopped at a place called Bloomington, which had one house in it, owned by John Vanater, the proprietor of the place. It soon grew upp, however, to be quite a village and place of trade. It is located on the banks of the upper mississippi River, thirty miles below Rock Island and sixty miles above Burlington. The name has since been changed to Muscatine City, Muscatine County.

He then resided in that place where he followed farming and trading, for three years. In 1939, he took his mother on a visit to her mother who resided in Madison, Indiana, in April of that year. From there he returned to Iowa; staying there until fall, and started for Texas; got as far as Arkansas and was taken sick with the white swelling, which left him a criple for life. He gave up the trip to Texas and returned again to Iowa in the spring of 1841, and remained there until 1843.

He then went to Quincy, Illinois. Was married to Miss Jane Ann Leypold, April 18, 1845, who was a native of Ohio. Their first child, a son, was born February 18, 1845 and died August 15, 1845. The next, a daughter, was born January 13, 1847. He lost his wife on January 12, 1848 and his daughter died January 16, 1848.

On August 17, 1848, he was married to his second wife, Miss Esther E. Deming, who is still living. She is a native of Ohio, and the mother of six children, whose names are as follows: John Rufus, George Oliver, Joseph Deming, Mary H. O., William Thomas, and Hester E., who are all living. The first one, John R. was born September 22, 1849, and the sixth one, Hester E., was born July 8, 1858.

In the spring of 1850, he started across the plains with an ox-team en route for California, bringing his family, consisting then of his wife and one child with him. They reached Salt Lake, August 17, 1850, but owing to the delicate health of Mrs. Cobb, they remained there until the spring of 1851, when they crossed the mountains, and arrived at Ringgold, near Placerville, California on July 1st of that year. He then engaged in mining for about three weeks, when he bought into a grocery store and kept boarding house, which business he followed until Septembr.

He then sold out and moved to Napa Valley, Napa County and rented a place of John S. Start, about four miles below Calistoga Springs, which he farmed one year. He sold his crop and went to Oregon in September 1852, and spent one year there, and returned to Napa County in August 1853. He then rented a place of John Tucker and Peter Teal for farming purposes.

In October of the same year, he went north of Napa Valley, towards Clear Lake, and took up a place in what is now known as Cobb Valley, which took its name after him, he being the first settler there. He then moved his family there in November 1853; a wild wilderness of a place, inhabited by various kinds of wild game and animals; elk, deer, bears, panthers, wolves, wild cats and foxes. In 1854, he was solicited to run for the office of County Assessor and was elected. He assessed Napa County in 1855. He lived about five years in Cobb Valley, then sold out and moved to Napa Valley again; bought a tract of land in the said valley of M. D. Ritchie, and remained on it about eighteen months, and sold it out. He then moved out to Calyomi Valley and settled near where Middletown is now. He then farmed and raised stock on that place about three years.

About that time, Lake County was segregated from Napa County. He was then put in charge of the grants by Robert Waterman. He farmed that ranch two years, and leased out the farms on the grants to the settlers. He then moved to Sonoma County; remained there two years educating his children, and then returned to Lake County with his family to his place that he had previously entered, containing five hundred and twenty acres. He resided on this farm about four years, improving it; then moved to Healdsburg; resided there about eighteen months, completing the education of his children.

He then returned with his family to Lake County, to his farm, where he has resided ever since. By referring to the dates, it will be found that Mr. Cobb is about the first white settler, or the oldest settler, now in Lake County.

Online Continuously since 1996 and last updated 29 June 2015